# CHICAGO PUBLIC LEAGUE

BOYS SOCCER CHAMPIONSHIP

OCT 11TH, 2023 LANE STADIUM



# WELCOME

To The 2023 Boys Varsity Soccer City Championship!

Since 1971, the Chicago Public League has consistently crowned Boys Varsity Soccer Champions, with Lane capturing that first title.

Last season, Solorio defeated Taft in a thrilling 5-3 penalty kick shootout.

This year, Taft will look to avenge that title defeat as it takes on Goode STEM Academy, who hopes to capture its first-ever boys soccer city title.

We wish the best of luck to our student-athletes in today's championship game and upcoming IHSA state playoffs.

Thank you for supporting our programs and for attending today's game!

The Chicago Public High School Athletic Association, commonly known as the **Chicago Public League**, is the interscholastic competition arm of the **Chicago Public Schools.** The governance of the CPL is set through the Department of Sports Administration and Facilities of CPS.





#### **Taft Administration**

PRINCIPAL: Mark Grishaber

**ATHLETIC DIRECTOR:** Matt Kestler

**HEAD COACH:** Jeffery Lucco

**ASSISTANT COACH:** Dan Harte

Season Record: 12-6-1

**Conference Record: 4-0-1** 





### 2023 Taft Varsity Boys Soccer Roster

	rait raioity Doys 30000i	
No.	Player's Full Name	Position
1	Alberto Alizo	GK
2	Adrian Grden	D
3	Daniel Korniat	M
4	Matthew Gruszka	D
5	Damian Giczewski	D
6	Krstan Omcikus	F
7	Michael Sturgulewski	D
8	Jair Duenas	M
9	Ethan Kazberuk	F
10	Gabriel Vidaurre	M
11	Bartosz Wojda	M
13	Patryk Kozlowski	M
14	Andres Flores	M
15	Filip Zero	D
16	Juan Monge	D
17	Kurmanbek Madaripov	M
18	Alex Wojda	M
19	Maksymilian Sliwa	M
21	Anas Ziyat	F
22	Idris Bachir	F
23	Steven Pryszcz	F
24	Max Gonzalez	D
25	Pablo Morales	F
26	Joel Paniagua	D
28	Erik Harcarik	GK
30	Mohamed Jawad Chabane	F



#### **Goode Administration**

PRINCIPAL: Rufino Bustos Jr.

**ATHLETIC DIRECTOR:** Dennis Laurincik

**HEAD COACH:** Andres Zaragoza

ASSISTANT COACHES: Ray Zaragoza, Ivan Soria

Season Record: 11-2-1

**Conference Record: 4-1** 





### 2023 Goode Varsity Boys Soccer Roster

No.	Player's Full Name	Position
0	Edwin Nunez	GK
3	Adrian Garcia	M
4	Javier Garcia	D
5	Eduardo Suarez	D
7	Abel Barrera	M
8	Diego Andrade	D
9	<b>Edward Mulgado</b>	F
10	Osmar Perez	M
12	Eduardo Ortega	M
16	Daniel Solano	M
18	Salvador Navarro	D
22	Berimah Mintah	M
23	Aldo Gonzalez	F
25	Jose Martinez	GK
26	Yair Mendoza	M
32	Fabian Rico F	
35	Jesus Mejia	D
38	<b>Anthony Gonzalez</b>	F
39	Efrian Martinez	M
40	Leonardo Martinez	M
41	Juan De Dios Mora	M
42	Jose Renteria	D
43	Mateo Murrilo	D

### 2023 Boys Varsity Soccer Bracket





## Thank You To WCIU "The U" For Their Coverage Of Tonight's Game!



WCIU "The U" can be found on WMEU Channel 48.1 and WCIU, Channel 26.2, Xfinity 230|360, Astound TV 35, Dish 48, Spectrum Charter 191 and U-Verse 24.

### **CPL Boys Soccer History**

### **List of City Champions (Since 1971)**

Solorio	1996	Foreman
Payton	1995	Juarez
N/A COVID	1994	Kelly
Lane	1993	Foreman
Solorio	1992	Clemente
Washington	1991	Farragut
Lane	1990	Roosevelt
Prosser	1989	Schurz
Lane	1988	Mather
Washington	1987	Amundsen
Kelly	1986	Farragut
Mather	1985	Mather
Kelly	1984	Amundsen
Young	1983	Mather
Lane	1982	Senn
Kelly	1981	Bowen
Farragut	1980	Bowen
Lane	1979	Bowen
Foreman	1978	Roosevelt
Farragut	1977	Schurz
Foreman	1976	Schurz
Amundsen	1975	Senn
Mather	1974	Senn
Amundsen	1973	Harrison
Amundsen	1972	Senn
Farragut	1971	Lane
	Payton N/A COVID Lane Solorio Washington Lane Prosser Lane Washington Kelly Mather Kelly Young Lane Kelly Young Lane Farragut Lane Foreman Farragut Amundsen Amundsen Amundsen Amundsen	Payton       1995         N/A COVID       1994         Lane       1993         Solorio       1992         Washington       1991         Lane       1989         Lane       1988         Washington       1987         Kelly       1986         Mather       1985         Kelly       1983         Lane       1982         Kelly       1981         Farragut       1980         Lane       1979         Foreman       1978         Farragut       1977         Foreman       1975         Amundsen       1973         Amundsen       1973         Amundsen       1973         Amundsen       1972



### **Acknowledgments**

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

David Rosengard, Executive Director

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Alan Garcia Pena, Athletic Program Administrator

**Boys Soccer** 

Maciej Orlowski, Boys Soccer Officials Assignor

Sport Communications and Operations teams

CPS Lane Stadium Staff

**CPS Safety and Security** 

Special thank you to Fred Weintraub and the team at Weigel

& WCIU for broadcasting the championship!



### **Acknowledgments**

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

Megan Hougard, Chief of College & Career Success

David Rosengard, Executive Director

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Alan Garcia, Athletic Program Administrator, Soccer

CPS Sports Communications and Operations teams

CPS Safety and Security

Special thank you to Weigel & WCIU for broadcasting the championship!



### VISIT OUR NEW WEBSITE

cpsathletics.com

### FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

cpsathletics.com/socialmedia

