CHICAGO PUBLIC LEAGUE GIRLS FLAG FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

SATURDAY OCT 21, 2023, 7:30PM LANE TECH STADIUM



WELCOME

To The 2023 Girls Flag Football City Championship!

In partnership with the Chicago Bears, NFL Flag, USA Football and Nike, the Chicago Public League launched the first-ever Girls High School Girls Flag Football League in the state of Illinois!

The inaugural 2021 season saw over 20 teams compete in a regular season and playoffs that culminated in the first-ever City Championship, with Back of the Yards securing the title!

In 2022, the league expanded to 48 teams from the Chicago Public League and welcomed six teams from Rockford and six teams from the West Suburban League as the sport and league continues to grow with the ultimate goal of becoming an IHSA-sanctioned sport.

Our semi-finals feature Lane Tech vs Simeon and CHSAS vs Phillips with the winners of each game advancing to tonight's Flag Football City Championship!

After tonight's matchups, the top two finalists and teams from the Rockford and West Suburban Leagues will compete in the 'Chicago Bears State Series' at Halas Hall next weekend.

Thank you for supporting our programs and for attending today's games!

The Chicago Public High School Athletic Association, commonly known as the **Chicago Public League**, is the interscholastic competition arm of the **Chicago Public Schools.** The governance of the CPL is set through the Department of Sports Administration and Facilities of CPS.





PRINCIPAL: Edwina Thompson

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: Brent Bradish

HEAD COACH: Caroline Schwartz

Shawn Cirton ASSISTANT COACH: Tim Sonnefeldt







Lane Tech

2023 Varsity Girls Flag Football Roster

No.	Name:	Year:
1	Anida Kreho	JR
2	Sophie Hong	JR
3	Gabriela Bahena	JR
4	Carly King	FR
5	Maggie Yoest	JR
6	Fiona Arifi	JR
7	Catalina Phillips-Li	SR
8	lje Agbakwu	SO
9	Sadia Rodriguez	SR
10	Kristi Sevova	SR
11	Nubia Cortez	SR
12	Alaina Valmassei	JR
14	Amalia Rojas	FR
15	Arianna Marin	FR
16	Jezalyn Davila	SO
17	Ruby Lim	FR
18	Olivia Kibbey	SR
19	Florencia Fabian	JR



Lane Tech (cont.)

2023 Varsity Girls Flag Football Roster

Name:	Year:
Sylin King	SR
Jocelyn Hale	JR
Molly McDonagh	SR
Makayla Brown	JR
Gianna Phillips	JR
Jillian Johnson	FR
Zara Smejkal	FR
Zora McDermott	SR
Helena Domalik	SO
Tulin Surgit	JR
	Sylin King Jocelyn Hale Molly McDonagh Makayla Brown Gianna Phillips Jillian Johnson Zara Smejkal Zora McDermott Helena Domalik



Simeon Wolverines

PRINCIPAL: Dr. Trista L Harper

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: Kendall Moore Kevin Gordon

HEAD COACH: Erin Pruitt

ASSISTANT COACH:

Menyett Baker Tytannie Harris Kourtnee Palamore Nukea Watson







Simeon Wolverines

2023 Varsity Girls Flag Football Roster

No.	Name:	Year:
2	Jasmine Riggs	FR
3	Ariel Winfield	JR
4	Kilah Jackson	SR
5	Sierra Nash	JR
6	Amirah Manson	SO
7	Cherish Thurman	JR
9	Da'Kyla Hall	JR
10	Dyamond Winters	SR
11	Koriel Webster	JR
12	Delilah King	FR
14	Morgan Ellis	JR
15	Mia Holcombe	JR
16	Ilmilya "Mi-Mi" Gray	SO
17	Janaiya Greenfield	JR
18	Niahyri Waller	JR
19	Helena Williams	JR



Chicago HS for A&S

PRINCIPAL: William Hook

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: Alij Tapp

HEAD COACH: Michael Doyle

ASSISTANT COACH: Maureen Griffin







Chicago HS for A&S

2023 Varsity Girls Flag Football Roster			
Name:			
Aliya Garcia			
Andrea Ramirez			
Chamirah Williams			
Daylon Clayton			
Emma Rolden			
Isabelle Matthews			
Jailynn Milam			
Kathleen Jackson-Ellis			
Maddie Jefferson			
Maddie Melendez			
Miley Melendez			
Mirrah Connor			
Noami Marchbank			
Romania Newton			
Shea Williams			
Shyil Brantley			
Tasanay Harris			
Tati Cargo			
Temia Coy			
Tylar Smith			
Taya Rice			
Paige Smith			
Khalia Kerns			
Voshti Hudson			



Phillips Wildcats

PRINCIPAL: Rashad Talley

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: James Daniel IV

HEAD COACH: Carl Clark

ASSISTANT COACH: Mike Riley







Phillips Wildcats

2023 Varsity Girls Flag Football Roster			
Name:			
Cherish Sanders			
Destiny West			
Tamiya Buie			
Amarie Phillips			
Kayla Nolan			
lycis Harden			
Antoinette Jones			
Jada Andrews			
Anijah Robinson			
Sierra Causey			
Christal Johnson			
Liberty Adams			
Janae Coley			
Welnesha Hall			

2023 Girls Flag Football Bracket



CPL Girls Flag Football History

LIST OF CITY CHAMPIONS

2021	Back of the Yards
2022	Taft

60 Schools that participated in 2023 Girls Flag Football

Red Northwest	Red South	Red North
Taft	Brooks	Senn
Odgen	CHSAS	Northside Prep
Von Steuben	Kenwood	Amundsen
Westinghouse	Lindblom	Lane Tech
Prosser	Morgan Park	Jones
Steinmetz	Simeon	Lincoln Park
North Grand	Noble-Comer	Whitney Young
Clark	Phillips	Schurz
Red Central	White North	White South
BOYCP	Payton	CVS
CMA	Crane	Harlan
Dunbar	Mather	Hyde Park
Kelly	Sullivan	Julian
King	Curie	Washington
Solorio	Rickover	Tilden
Noble-Mansueto	Noble-Bulls	Goode
Hubbard	Air Force	Englewood Stem
Blue North		Blue South
Phoenix Military		Perspectives-MSA
Roosevelt		Corliss
Noble Baker CP		Maria Catalyst
Chicago Academy (dropped)		Hancock
Little Village		Kennedy
IHSCA		Perspectives-Leadership



Acknowledgments

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

David Rosengard, Executive Director

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Juliana Zavala, Senior Manager of Sports Administration, Athletic Program Administrator Flag Football

Abdullah Asad, Girls Flag Football Officials Assignor

Sport Communications and Operations teams

CPS Lane Stadium Staff

CPS Safety and Security

Specials thank you to the <u>Chicago Bears</u> for their support for <u>CPL High School Girls Flag Football</u>



FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA twitter.com/CPLAthletics

