CHICAGO PUBLIC LEAGUE

GIRLS SWIMMING & DIVING CHAMPIONSHIP

DIVING OCTOBER 27 5:00 PM

SWIMMING October 28

11:00 AM

WHITNEY YOUNG H.S. CPL DIALACTICAL SWIMMING & DIVING

WELCOME

To the 2023 Girls Swimming & Diving CPL Championship!

For over 45 years, the Chicago Public League has crowned a Girls Swimming & Diving Champion!

Lane Tech became the first-ever CPL Champion during the 1977 season, shortly after the passage of Title IX.

In 2022, Lane Tech captured the Girls Swimming & Diving Championship title with a 308 - 286 victory over Whitney Young.



We wish the best of luck to our student-athletes in the championship, and we look forward to following our teams in the IHSA state series!

The Chicago Public High School Athletic Association, commonly known as the **Chicago Public League**, is the interscholastic competition arm of **Chicago Public Schools.** The governance of the CPL is set through the CPS Office of Sports Administration & Facilities.



CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS

Gold JV – Lane Tech

- Silver Von Steuben/Disney II
- Red Solorio
- White Kennedy/Hancock
- **Blue** Back of the Yards/Mansueto

AWARDS & RECOGNITION

Awards for diving (events #1 - 2) will be presented at the conclusion of Diving Championships on Friday.

Swimming awards will be presented during Saturday's

meet breaks for all events preceding:

Break # 1 – After Event #10

- Conference Champions
- Individual Awards: Events #3 10
- Break # 2 After Event #18
 - Individual Awards: Events #11 18
- Meet End After Event #24
 - Individual Awards: Events #19 24
 - Team Awards: CPL Champion & Runner-Up

Seniors will be recognized throughout the meet. Congratulations to all of our seniors, and best of luck in your future endeavors!

RESOURCES HEAT SHEETS & LIVE RESULTS

Available on <u>SwimCloud</u> (swimcloud.com/results/270850); simply select the blue "EVENTS" button



CPL Championship Meet Records

Event	Name	School	Time	Year
200 Medley Relay	Jannie Esperon Maddie Zehr Elena Escalante Morgan Rummelhoff	Lane Tech	1:47.17	2019
200 Freestyle	Renee Tan	Whitney Young	1:53.01	2021
200 IM	Natalie O'Connell Madeleine Zher	Lane Tech	2:10.38	2012 2019
50 Freestyle	Isabella Chow	Whitney Young	23.20	2021
11 Dives	Regina Meirmanova	Taft	469.75	2019
100 Butterfly	Taylor Otey	Whitney Young	58.13	2022
100 Freestyle	Hannah Shimada	Northside	51.36	2019
500 Freestyle	Renee Tan	Whitney Young	5:01.78	2021
200 Free Relay	Gabby McCracken Izzy Schober Addy McGarry Staja Szukala	Lane Tech	1:39.07	2022
100 Backstroke	Meghan Lavelle	Lane Tech	58.52	2013
100 Breaststroke	Kayla Duran	Taft	1:02.90	2022
400 Free Relay	Maddie Zehr Staja Szukala Morgan Rummelhoff Elena Escalante	Lane Tech	3:36.13	2019

Chicago Public League Records

Event	Name	School	Time	Year
200 Medley Relay	Jannie Esperon Maddie Zehr Chloe Symons Morgan Rummelhoff	Lane Tech	1:46.11	2021
200 Freestyle	Renee Tan	Whitney Young	1:52.21	2021
200 IM	Meghan Lavelle	Lane Tech	2:04.12	2013
50 Freestyle	Isabella Chow	Whitney Young	23.14	2021
11 Dives	Regina Meirmanova	Taft	532.00	2020
100 Butterfly	Isabella Chow	Whitney Young	55.06	2022
100 Freestyle	Hannah Shimada	Northside	51.04	2019
500 Freestyle	Renee Tan	Whitney Young	5:01.78	2021
200 Free Relay	Jannie Esperon Meghan Mansfield Morgan Rummelhoff Staja Szukala	Lane Tech	1:38.19	2021
100 Backstroke	Meghan Lavelle	Lane Tech	56.73	2013
100 Breaststroke	Kayla Duran	Taft	1:02.37	2022
400 Free Relay	Maddie Zehr Staja Szukala Morgan Rummelhoff Elena Escalante	Lane Tech	3:33.30	2019

CPL Girls Swimming & Diving Champion History

2023		1999	Lane Tech
2022	Lane Tech	1998	Kenwood
2021	Lane Tech	1997	Whitney Young
2020	N/A	1996	Whitney Young
2019	Lane Tech	1995	Whitney Young
2018	Whitney Young	1994	Whitney Young
2017	Lane Tech	1993	Lane Tech
2016	Lane Tech	1992	Lane Tech
2015	Lane Tech	1991	Lane Tech
2014	Northside	1990	Kenwood
2013	Lane Tech	1989	Kenwood
2012	Lane Tech	1988	Kenwood
2011	Lane Tech	1987	Kenwood
2010	Lane Tech	1986	Kenwood
2009	Northside	1985	Kenwood
2008	Northside	1984	Lane Tech
2007	Lane Tech	1983	Lane Tech
2006	Lane Tech	1982	Lane Tech
2005	Lane Tech	1981	Kenwood
2004	Lane Tech	1980	Morgan Park
2003	Lane Tech	1979	Morgan Park
2002	Northside	1978	Morgan Park
2001	Lane Tech	1977	Lane Tech
2000	Whitney Young		





Acknowledgments

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

David Rosengard, Executive Director of Sports Admin.

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports Admin.

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Christine Menzenberger, Athletic Program Administrator

Chicago Public League Swimming & Diving Committee

CPS Sports Communications and Operations Teams

CPS Safety & Security and ATI Athletic Trainers

Our Dedicated Team of IHSA Officials

Our Robust Team of Parent, Student, & CPS Volunteers

A special thank you to **Whitney Young High School** for hosting this year's CPL Championship.





FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

CPSathletics.com/socialmedia

