

HADMINTON BADMINTON

WELCOME

to the 2024 Chicago Public League Girls Badminton Championship Tournament!

Badminton became an official IHSA sport shortly after the adoption of Title IX in the U.S. and has been an exciting addition to the Chicago Public League since 2018!

Last season, the Payton Grizzlies captured the CPL Championship title and the Northside Mustangs secured the Runner-Up spot.

2023 SINGLES TOP FOUR

- Champion: Hailan Yu (Payton)
- Runner-Up: Sunshine Pang (Whitney Young)
- 3rd Place: Nina Shinall (Payton)
- 4th Place: Yocelyn Reza (Back of the Yards)

2023 DOUBLES TOP FOUR

- Champion: Margarita Tsyganova & Ashley Strauss (Payton)
- Runner-Up: Cindy Ho & Hannah Ding (Payton)
- 3rd Place: Hana Fazlic & Alba Oliva (Roosevelt/Von)
- 4th Place: Katherine Chen & Rachel Li (Whitney Young)

We cannot wait to see our incredible student-athletes compete in the championship!

Thank you for attending the Girls Badminton Championship Tournament and we wish the best of luck to all of our competitors!

The Chicago Public High School Athletic Association, commonly known as the **Chicago Public League**, is the interscholastic competition arm of

Chicago Public Schools. The governance of the CPL is set through the Department of Sports Administration and Facilities of CPS.



CONGRATULATIONS

TO OUR CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS

Northside

Conference Record: 7-0 | Overall Record: 7-0

Head Coach: Trenton Szeto

Payton

Conference Record: 5-0 | Overall Record: 6-0

Head Coach: Curtis Nunnery

Kenwood

Conference Record: 6-0 | Overall Record: 6-0

Head Coach: Kiley Pooler

CHAMPIONSHIP AWARDS & RECOGNITION

Individual and team awards will be presented at the conclusion of the championship tournament.



CHAMPIONSHIP QUALIFIERS

SINGLES		
School	Student-Athlete	
Amundsen	Sarina Ahmed	
BOYCP	Yocelyn Reza	
CMSA	Arpanna Rai	
Curie	Linda Sanchez	
Hancock	Melissa Montalvo	
Hubbard	Eileen Flores	
Kelly	Maggie Yang	
Kelvyn Park	Angelina Ruiz	
Kenwood	Jada George	
Lake View	Qatarina Alisoso	
Lindblom	Shaquia Wilson	
Mather	Saba Javed	
Northside	Enkhjin Namuunbayar	
Payton	Hailan Yu	
Roosevelt/Von	Cerela Marin	
Senn	Lillian Benham	
Steinmetz	Aariyah Patton	
Taft	Veronica Sader	
Whitney Young	Catherine Xu	







CHAMPIONSHIP QUALIFIERS

DOUBLES		
School	Student-Athlete #1	Student-Athlete #2
Amundsen	Soraya Torres	Angelina Raap
BOYCP	Mia Batz	Anhely Gutierrez
CMSA	Moriam Lawal	Halima Salau
Curie	Brenda Marin	Citlalli Lopez
Hancock	Isabella Hernandez	Jasmine Davila
Hubbard	Maya Serrano	Mariana Aceves
Kelly	Jasmin Aviles	Jasmin Li
Kelvyn Park	Victoria Carvajal	Rosmeri Landa-Trujillo
Kenwood	Mia Carter	Carmen Huang
Lake View	Maria Perez Lopez	Shantal Flores
Lindblom	Taya Isaac	Shuandria McLaurin
Mather	Mariya Memon	Lena Nguyen
Northside	Jenny Au	Jaana-Eeva Boley
Payton	Ashley Strauss	Shefali Gupta
Roosevelt/Von	Hana Fazlic	Alba Oliva
Senn	Ruth Anthony	Alany Illagan
Steinmetz	Kimberly Barcenas Contreras	Alonnah Clay
Taft	Mackenzie DeLaCruz	Carley Pederson
Whitney Young	Natalie Chin	Michelle Yee







Click the link below to view the LIVE bracket as our CPS teams compete to crown a CPL Champion!

2024 Girls Badminton
Conference & Championship
Brackets







CPL Girls Badminton Champions 2024 2023 Payton 2022 Payton 2021 Payton 2020 N/A 2019 Payton

Payton

2018



Acknowledgments

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

David Rosengard, Executive Director of Sports Admin.

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports Administration

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Christine Menzenberger, Athletic Program Administrator

Chicago Public League Water Polo Committee

CPS Sports Communications and Operations Teams

CPS Safety & Security and ATI Athletic Trainers

Our Dedicated Team of IHSA Officials

Our Robust Team of Parent, Student, & CPS Volunteers

A special thank you to **Whitney Young High School** for hosting this year's Championship tournament!



VISIT OUR NEW WEBSITE

cpsathletics.com

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

cpsathletics.com/socialmedia

