



GIRLS VARSITY CITY CHAMPIONSHIP @ 7PM

MAY 8TH, 2024, 7PM LANE STADIUM



## WELCOME

To The 2024 Girls Varsity Soccer City Championship!

Since 1994, the Chicago Public League has consistently crowned Girls Varsity Soccer Champions, with Juarez capturing that first title.

Last season Marine Leadership defeated Washington in the Windy City Cup.

Last season, <u>Lane Tech defeated Jones</u> in a thrilling matchup, winning its eighth consecutive city title.

This year, Amundsen will take on Solorio in the Windy City Cup and Lane Tech will look to defend its title as it takes on Whitney Young in the Varsity City Championship, a rematch of the 2022 title game.

We wish the best of luck to our student-athletes in today's championship game and upcoming IHSA state playoffs.

Thank you for supporting our programs and for attending today's game!

The Chicago Public High School Athletic Association, commonly known as the **Chicago Public League**, is the interscholastic competition arm of the **Chicago Public Schools.** The governance of the CPL is set through the Department of Sports Administration and Facilities of CPS.



### Congratulations To This Year's Conference Champions!





Premier North Lane Tech

Premier South Whitney Young

First North Amundsen







First Northwest Westinghouse

First Central Hubbard

First South
Back of the Yards







Second North Intrinsic

Second Central North Grand

Second Central Richards



**Second South**Brooks



Open North ASPIRA COOP



**Open South** Morgan Park

### Congratulations To This Year's All-City Team!



Name	School	Year	Position
Catherine Cupps	Payton	Senior	D
Grace Carman	Lane Tech	Junior	F
Abigail Snowden	Lane Tech	Senior	F
Ajla Gradjan	Payton	Senior	F
Kristiyana Sevova	Lane Tech	Senior	М
Moira Koleno	Young	Junior	М
Felicity Cole	Payton	Senior	F
Ava Balmaseda	Taft	Junior	М
Alyssa Ramos	Jones	Freshman	М
Crystal Gutierrez	MLA	Junior	F
Juliette Popelka	Taft	Freshman	F
Aiyana Wright	Jones	Sophomore	F
Audrey Dziedzic	Jones	Junior	М
Sonia Liew	Young	Senior	М
Marlowe Buchanan	Amundsen	Freshman	М
Kate Sweitzer	Young	Senior	D
Emmely Munoz	BOTY	Junior	F
Ivette Herrera	MLA	Senior	М
Guadalupe Ruiz	Solorio	Junior	D
Angelina Barreno	Amundsen	Junior	F
Cynthia Waller	Lane	Junior	G
Valerie Betancourt	MLA	Senior	G



#### **Amundsen Administration**

**PRINCIPAL:** Kristi Ellers

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: Dan Jeske

**HEAD COACH:** David Chinchilla

ASSISTANT COACH: Jaqueline Lagunas, Veronica

Raguay, Karla Gonzalez

**Season Record: 15-3** 

**Conference Record: 5-0** 







### **Amundsen Vikings**

2024 Varsity Girls Soccer Roster			
No.	Player's Full Name	Position	Grade
0	Sofia Bell	GK	10
1	Helena Shingler	GK	11
2	Elliana Riddle	Midfield	9
6	Elena Avila	Midfield	10
10	Destiny Vazquez	Def	12
13	Demetra Tottas	Def	10
17	Yasleen Galindo	Midfield	9
18	Jazmin Galindo	Midfield	9
23	Angelina Barreno	Forward	11
29	Raisa Yuille	Forward	10
30	Emma Cholodecki	Midfield	10
36	Molly Sullivan	Def	9
39	Marlowe Buchanan	Midfield	9
43	Olivia Chier	Def	9
54	Greer Kane	Def/Midfield	10
61	Ruby Miller	Midfield	10



#### **Solorio Administration**

**PRINCIPAL:** Victor Iturralde

**ATHLETIC DIRECTOR:** Andres Hernandez

**HEAD COACH:** Max Boyso

**ASSISTANT COACH:** Frank Potliker

Season Record: 12-4-2

**Conference Record: 3-2-0** 







### **Solorio Sun-Warriors**

2024 Varsity Girls Soccer Roster			
No.	Player's Full Name	Position	Grade
1	Emily Sotelo	G	12
3	Itzel Rivera	D	12
4	Guadalupe Ruiz	M	12
5	Giselle Vazquez	M	10
6	Sarahi Barajas	M	12
7	Janeth Ortega	M	12
	Angelina		
8	Dominguez	F	11
10	Karla Pineda	F	10
11	Jocelyn Andrade	M	11
12	Ruby Guzman	D	11
13	Anahi Sotelo	M	9
	Samantha		
14	Morales	D	9
15	<b>Emily Quinones</b>	M	11
17	Joanna Garcia	M	11
19	Layla Vicario	M	9
20	Valeria Perez	D	9
22	Yulissa Sanchez	F	11
23	Layla Vicario	D	10



### **Lane Tech Administration**

**PRINCIPAL:** Edwina Thompson

**ATHLETIC DIRECTOR:** Brent Bradish

**HEAD COACH:** Sean Harkness

ASSISTANT COACH: Henry Gomez, Sean Martinez,

Season Record: 15-2

**Conference Record: 5-0** 





# Lane Tech Champions

2024 Varsity Girls Soccer Roster			
No.	Player's Full Name	Position	Grade
0	Avery Beitel	GK	9
1	Cynthia Waller	GK	11
5	Jennifer Rodriguez	M	12
7	Lily Bishop	F	10
8/16/45	Jackson Caffey	F	10
9	Kristiyana Sevova	M/F	12
10	Abigail Snowden	F	12
12	Lindsay Peterson	F	10
13	Caitlyn Shane	F	10
15	Brynn Walter	D/M	10
17	Sylvia Cervenka	M	9
23	Jessica Carlson	M	11
26	Tai Williams	F	12
27	Natasha Matznick	D	10
28	Riya Jain	M/F	12
31	Luzmarie Razo	F	11
32	Aislin Anstee	D	12
34	Alyssa LoVerde	D	11
36	Alex Rogan	D/M	9
45	Grace Carman	F	11
46	Olivia Field	D	11
47	Olive Tinucci	D	11



#### **Whitney Young Administration**

**PRINCIPAL:** Rickey Harris

**ATHLETIC DIRECTOR:** Chris Cassidy

**HEAD COACH:** Zoe Saphir

ASSISTANT COACH: Ian McCarthy, Ella McCarthy, Kyra

Sobel

Season Record: 10-8

**Conference Record: 5-0** 







### Whitney Young Dolphins

willtiey found Dolphins					
2024 Vai	2024 Varsity Girls Soccer Roster				
No.	Player's Full Name	Position	Grade		
1	Marcela Matallana	GK	11		
2	Moira Koleno	Mid	11		
3	Kate Sweitzer	Def	12		
4	Ainsley Christensen	Def	11		
5	Danielle Lam	Mid	10		
6	Cassandra (Cassie)				

2	Moira Koleno	Mid	11
3	Kate Sweitzer	Def	12
4	Ainsley		
	Christensen	Def	11
5	Danielle Lam	Mid	10
6	Cassandra		
	(Cassie)		
	Reyna-Demes	Def	12
7	Cassandra		
	(Cass)		
	Schumacher	Fw	11
8	Lauren Roche	Mid	12
9	Evelyn		
	Vaughn	Fw	12
10	Kathryn		
	(Katie)		
	Greenbaum	Fw	11
11	Sonia Liew	Mid	12
12	Hollis		
	VanDerMeid	Mid	12
13	Chloe May	Fw	12
14	Xochilt Lopez	Def	11
15	Ella Cutler	Mid	11
17	Cayleigh		

Mid

Maywall

10



### **Whitney Young Dolphins**

### 2024 Varsity Girls Soccer Roster

No.	Player's Full Name	Position	Grade
18	Caroline		
	Brown	Def	11
19	Xi Le O'Neill	Fw	11
20	Finley		
	Skertich	Mid	10
21	Tallulah		
	Avery	Def	9
22	Maddie		
	Huffman	Mid	9
24	Guila		
	Bortolotto	Mid	10

### Chicago Fire and Chicago Red Stars Ticket Opportunities:



The Chicago Public League is proud to partner with the Chicago Red Stars! So, gather your colleagues, friends and family and let's cheer on the Chicago Red Stars together!

We hope to see you there!

#### **TICKET LINK**



Chicago Fire FC is a proud community partner of CPS athletics, and we wish all players and coaches involved good luck this evening!

Tickets are available at <a href="mailto:chicagofirefc.com">chicagofirefc.com</a>.

Thank you and Go Fire!

### **CPL Girls Soccer History**

### **List of City Champions (Since 1994)**

2024	TBD	2007	Lincoln Park
2023	Lane	2006	Lane
2022	Lane	2005	Lincoln Park
2021	Lane	2004	Lane
2020	N/A COVID	2003	Young
2019	Lane	2002	Lincoln Park
2018	Lane	2001	Mather
2017	Lane	2000	Young
2016	Lane	1999	Young
2015	Lane	1998	Amundsen
2014	Young	1997	Kelly
2013	Lane	1996	Lane
2012	Young	1995	Von Steuben
2011	Lane	1994	Juarez
2010	Lane		
2009	Payton		
2008	Young		



#### **Acknowledgments**

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

David Rosengard, Executive Director

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Alan Garcia Pena, Athletic Program Administrator

Girls Soccer

Maciej Orlowski, Girls Soccer Officials Assignor

Sport Communications and Operations teams

**CPS Lane Stadium Staff** 

**CPS Safety and Security** 

Specials thank you to Fred Weintraub and the team at

Weigel & WCIU for broadcasting the championship!



### VISIT OUR NEW WEBSITE

cpsathletics.com

### FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

cpsathletics.com/socialmedia

