CHICAGO PUBLIC LEAGUE

BOYS VOLLEYBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS

SOPHOMORE CHAMPIONSHIP 5PM VARSITY CHAMPIONSHIP 6:30PM

THURSDAY MAY 16TH, 2023 LITTLE VILLAGE LAWNDALE HIGH SCHOOL

WELCOME

To The 2024 Boys Sophomore and Varsity Volleyball City Championship!

Since 2001, the Chicago Public League has crowned Boys Volleyball Champions, with Whitney Young securing the first-ever varsity championship over 20 years ago.

Last season, Von Steuben defeated Lane Tech in the sophomore championship and Whitney Young defeated Jones in a thrilling three-set match to capture the varsity title.

This season, Taft will take on Lane Tech for the sophomore championship and Whitney Young and Jones will compete for a varsity title (Varsity Semi Final Recap Linked Here)!

Good luck to all teams in today's championship match and good luck in the IHSA State Playoffs.

Thank you for for attending today's event and for your

support of our student-athletes and programs.

The Chicago Public High School Athletic Association, commonly known as the **Chicago Public League**, is the interscholastic competition arm of the **Chicago Public Schools.** The governance of the CPL is set through the Department of Sports Administration and Facilities of CPS.





Taft Administration

PRINCIPAL: Mark Grishaber

ATHLETIC DIRECTORS: Matt Kestler, Brandon Lathon

HEAD COACH: Payton Litney

ASSISTANT COACH: Paul Rusev

Emma Cakic, Arian Tomic, Nikolina **MANAGERS:** Budimir

Season Record: 30-2





Taft Eagles

2024 Boys Sophomore Volleyball Roster		
No.	Name:	Year:
2	Minh-Son Tinh	SO
3	Chase Tran	SO
4	Izaiah Aquino	FR
5	Jackson Prock	SO
7	Nicolas Pasala	FR
13	Kenneth Tomal	SO
16	Matthew Kanter	FR
20	Diego Meza	SO
23	Nathan Vancil	FR
	John Anthony	
24	Romano	SO
26	Daniel Spiric	SO
30	Milos Ivic	SO
33	Dmytro Karpets	SO



Lane Tech Administration

PRINCIPAL: Edwina Thompson

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: Brent Bradish

HEAD COACH: Brian Telles

ASSISTANT COACHES: Amy Wallace, Michelle Loh, Craig Bell

Season Record: 17-5







Lane Tech Champions

2024 Boys Sophomore Roster		
No.	Name:	Year:
1	Chris Alvarado	SO
2	Kai Changet	SO
3	Luka Thompson	SO
4	Parker Tracey	SO
5	Ethan Goldstein	SO
6	Jason Lukian	SO
7	Hagen Bonnette	SO
9	Julian Hosek	FR
10	Gray Jimenez	SO
11	Anthony Suarez	SO
	Gabriel	
13	Xerogianes - White	SO
14	Evan Lam	FR
15	Alex Deakins	SO



Jones College Prep Eagles

Administration

PRINCIPAL: Kerry Dolan

ATHLETIC DIRECTORS: Michael Strok, David Gilmer

HEAD COACH: Howard Hu

ASSISTANT COACHES: Linda Leal, Aiden Domingo

MANAGERS: Kylynn White, David Zhu, Suraya Hadden, Mary Ken, Erin Wheeler

Season Record: 25-9







2024 Boys Varsity Volleyball Roster		
No.	Name:	Year:
1	Peter Stewart	SR
2	Quinton Johnson	JR
7	Clark Rohde O'Boyle	SR
9	Dallas Birkenbeuel	SR
11	Spencer Lee	SR
13	Mick O'Malley	SO
18	Max Levin	JR
19	Roman Berkowitz	SO
22	Tommy Chen	JR
23	Connor Treccia	JR
27	Harrison McAllister	SO
32	Ben Sherman	SR



Whitney Young Administration

PRINCIPAL: Rickey Harris

ATHLETIC DIRECTORS: Chris Cassidy, Matthew Castle

HEAD COACH: Michael Quevedo

ASSISTANT COACH: Jesse Martinez

Season Record: 18-13







Whitney Young Dolphins

2024 Boys Varsity Volleyball Roster		
No.	Name:	Year:
0	Seth Williams	SR
1	Marty O'Brien	JR
	Yostyn	
2	Waterhouse	SR
3	Cayden Kirby	SO
6	Ivo Hoying	SR
7	Evan Chiu	SO
8	Zaki Mallick	SR
	Tyler	
9	Bufford-Myers	JR
17	Angel Mendez	JR
22	Reed Favaro	JR
23	Adrian Pitzele	SR
33	Paul Biernat	SR
34	Quinn Beck	SR

CPL Boys Volleyball History

List of Varsity City Champions

2024	TBD
2023	Young
2022	Young
2021	Lane
2020	N/A COVID
2019	Jones
2018	Payton
2017	Lane
2016	Von Steuben
2015	Von Steuben
2014	Payton
2013	Payton
2012	Young
2011	Payton
2010	Young
2009	Young
2008	Northside
2007	Taft
2006	Lincoln Park
2005	Lane
2004	Kelvyn Park
2003	Kelvyn Park
2002	Lane
2001	Young



Acknowledgments

Pedro Martinez, Chief Executive Officer

Bogdana Chkoumbova, Chief Education Officer

David Rosengard, Executive Director of Sports Administration

Mickey Pruitt, Director of Sports Administration

Thomas Smith, Senior Manager of Sports Administration

Cynthia Irvin, Athletic Program Administrator- Boys Volleyball

Pam Young, Boys Volleyball Officials Assignor

Eugene Brown, Boys Volleyball Officials Assignor

Sport Communications and Operations teams

CPS Safety and Security

ATI Physical Therapy

Special thank you to Little Village Lawndale High School for

hosting this year's city championship.

Visit their athletics website: littlevillageathletics.com



FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

CPSathletics.com/socialmedia

