MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Former Winner Middle School Library, Winner, SD 7:00 P.M. February 9, 2015

President Calhoon called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m with the pledge of allegiance.

RECEIVE PUBLIC INPUT: Marty Pederson spoke in support of the Winner wrestling program.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Calhoon, Dr. Tom Covey, Bill Mann, Steve Kubik, Rusty Blare and Joe Hockett.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Scott Meiners.

SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT: Bruce Carrier, Laura Root, Gerald Witte, Brian Naasz and Kim Demers.

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Wayne Meyer, Marty Pederson, Mardi Pederson, Douglas Wiken and Dan Bechtold, Winner Advocate.

ALL MOTIONS CARRIED BY MAJORITY VOTE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: add student matter to executive session item b.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion made by T Covey, seconded by J Hockett and carried to approve the amended agenda. 6-0

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Motion made by B Mann, seconded by T Covey and carried that all board members had received copies of the minutes of the January 12th regular meeting and February 3rd special meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections. 6-0

APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL REPORTS: Motion made by R Blare, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve financial reports. 6-0

APPROVAL OF BILLS: Motion made by T Covey, seconded by R Blare and carried to approve the bills as submitted. 6-0

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS: Mrs. Demers, Mr. Naasz, Mr. Witte, Mr. Aaker and Dusti Littau, Winner Student Council Representative.

OLD BUSINESS:

a. Any items the board wishes to consider-none.

NEW BUSINESS:

- a. Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by S Kubik and carried to approve contract with Schoenfish and Co. for the 2014-2015 school audit. 6-0
- b. Motion made by B Mann, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve extracurricular contract for Kevin Keiser as MS track coach. 6-0
- c. Motion made by S Kubik, seconded by J Hockett and carried to approve proposal by Randy Kludt for summer care of school grounds. 6-0
- d. Motion made by B Mann, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve school board policy 7.43. 6-0
- e. Motion made by T Covey, seconded by R Blare and carried to approve moving March 9, 2015 regular school board meeting to Monday, March 16, 2015. 6-0

f. Any other items the board may wish to consider-None.

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT: Superintendent Carrier updated the board on the following: Updated enrollment; Legislative update

Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by T Covey and carried to go into executive session at 7:55 for Personnel SDCL 1-25-2 (1) and Student Matter SDCL 1-25-2 (2). 6-0

Board Chairman Calhoon declared executive session over at 10:04pm.

Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by B Mann and carried to approve offering 2015-2016 certified staff contracts as recommended by Superintendent Carrier. Salary and fringe benefits to be determined at a later date. Tammy Sund, Emily Tideman, Linda Bergjord, Monica Larson, Shawn Soles, Nicole Vogt, Jaime Keiser, Jolene Vavra, Michelle Larson, Shelly Sharp, Amy Kartak, Amanda Audiss, Linda Bertelsen, Marcia Bertram, Matt Chambers, Lisa Vesely, Casey Weber, Johnyne Horstman, Crystal Sinkler, Jamie Schomp, Rebecca Powell, Jo Streifel, Diane Kludt, Danielle Pemberton, Liane Christensen, Ashley Duffy, Joyce Massa, Mary Hosford, Kim DeMers, Val Ewing, Judy Duffy, Larry Aaker, Robin Curtis, Bonnie Percy, Kelly Assman, Kevin Keiser, Brett Gardner, CK Storms, Sam Olson, Michelle Storms, Rona Volmer, Roger Wonnenberg, Kris Brockhoft, Karyl Clay, Wyatt Dejong, Diane Durrin, Lindsey Foster, Mark Gronlund, Jim Massa, Jonathan Hanson, Randy Kludt, Cyndy Demers, Trent Olson and Jayd Schuyler. 6-0

Motion made by T Covey, seconded by R Blare and carried to approve offering 2015-2016 classified staff contracts as recommended by Superintendent Carrier. Salary and fringe benefits to be determined at a later date. Deb Hannett, Anna Nesseth, Maria Laurent, Laurie Osborn, Sylvia Bear, Rebecca Sitting Bear, Sheri Bolander, Kara Gregg, Jenna Phillips, Rena Nagel, Pat Rehak, LeeAnn Fisher, Skyler Duffy, Ann English, Barb Leeds, Stacy Norrid, Lorna Phillips, Barb Lee, Melanie Bachmann, Mona LaCompte, Kara Connot, Susan Hauff, Kathy Hagen, Barb Long, Kenzie Dougherty, Charlie Antoine, Melvin Hibbs, Dan Nesseth, Neil Paulson, Gene Rice, Orville Schroeder, Melinda Schroeder, Shelley Kucera, Cathy Ducheneaux, Sherry Bohnet, Nicole Richey, DeAnne Felix, Marilyn Herman, James Paulson and Lori Paulson. 6-0

Motion made by T Covey, seconded by J Hockett and carried to approve offering 2015-2016 extracurricular assignments as recommended by Superintendent Carrier. Salary to be determined at a later date. Dan Aaker-head football; Larry Aaker-head girls basketball, asst football, head track; Kelly Assman-national honors society: Kris Brockhoft-fccla advisor, concession advisor: Glenn Carlson-asst track; Matt Chambers-asst football, head wrestling; Karyl Clay-junior class advisor; Robin Curtis-ms track, hs quiz bowl, ms brain brawl; Wyatt Dejong-ffa advisor; Cyndy Demers-academic banquet advisor, warriorette advisor, competitive dance advisor; Kim Demers-school improvement co-chair; Judy Duffy-oral interpretation; Skyler Duffy-8th volleyball; Diane Durrin-speech activities, yearbook; Val Ewing-asst junior class advisor, head sideline cheer coach, competitive cheer coach, ms reading Olympics; Lindsey Fosterasst track; Brett Gardner-head boys basketball, asst track; Jonathan Hanson-7th boys basketball; Mary Hosford-special Olympics coach; Lisa Jankauskas-7th basketball; Jaime Keiser-asst track, head volleyball; Kevin Keiser-ms track; Randy Kludt-head boys/girls golf, science fair director; Mona LaCompte-ms/hs student council; Michelle Larson-reading olympics/brain brawl; Brian Naasz-ms head football; Stacy Norrid-asst volleyball; Sam Olson-asst girls basketball; Trent Olson-asst boys basketball, asst football; Dan Patmore-technical director-all plays; Danielle Pemberton-hs music instructor 5-12 band. ms music instructor; Jenna Phillips-9th volleyball; Lorna Phillips-asst student council advisor; Rebecca Powell-elem/hs vocal instructor, asst sideline cheer; Jayd Schuyler-asst wresling, ms wrestling, head cross country; Crystal Sinkler-school improvement co-chair, reading Olympics/brain brawl; Ron Snethen-8th boys basketball; CK Storms-7th volleyball; Jo Streifel-8th girls basketball; Roger Wonnenberg-ms asst football, all school play, contest one act play, ms one act play. 6-0

Motion made by B Mann, seconded by J Hockett and carried to approve summer 20 contract for Wyatt DeJong and summer 20 day contract for Danielle Pemberton. 6-0

Motion made by T Covey, seconded by B Mann and carried to extend Gerald Witte's two year contract as MS/HS Principal/Technology Coordinator to the 2016-2017 school year. Salary and fringe benefits to be determined at a later date. 6-0

Motion made by R Blare, seconded by T Covey and carried to extend Brian Naasz's two year contract as Elementary Principal/Special Education Coordinator to the 2016-2017 school year. Salary and fringe benefits to be determined at a later date. 6-0

Motion made by R Blare, seconded by B Mann and carried to extend Dan Aaker's two year contract as Assistant MS/HS Principal/Activities Director to the 2016-2017 school year. Salary and fringe benefits to be determined at a later date. 6-0

ADJOURNMENT: Motion made by T Covey, seconded by B Mann and carried to adjourn at 10:08 pm. 6-0

Laura Root	Mike Calhoon
Business Manager	Chairman
Published once at the total approximate cost of \$	