MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Former Winner Middle School Library, Winner, SD 7:00 P.M. September 8, 2014

President Calhoon called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m with the pledge of allegiance.

RECEIVE PUBLIC INPUT: None.

## **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mike Calhoon, Scott Meiners, Bill Mann (7:03), Steve Kubik, Dr. Tom Covey, Rusty Blare and Joe Hockett.

**BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:** None.

**SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT**: Bruce Carrier, Laura Root, Dan Aaker, Kim Demers, Michelle Storms, Robin Curtis, Brett Gardner, Rebecca Powell, Danielle Pemberton and Wyatt Dejong.

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Wayne Meyer, Tom Kauer and Dan Bechtold, Winner Advocate.

ALL MOTIONS CARRIED BY MAJORITY VOTE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: None.

Bill Mann entered (7:03pm)

## APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by S Meiners and carried to approve the agenda. 7-0

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES**: Motion made by B Mann, seconded by S Kubik and carried that all board members had received copies of the minutes of the August 11<sup>th</sup> regular meeting and the August 21<sup>st</sup> special board meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections. 7-0

**APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL REPORTS**: Motion made by S Meiners, seconded by J Hockett and carried to approve financial reports. 7-0

**APPROVAL OF BILLS**: Motion made by B Mann, seconded by S Meiners and carried to approve the bills as submitted. 7-0

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS: Mr. Aaker, Kim Demers and Nick Hossle, Winner Student Council.

## **OLD BUSINESS:**

- Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by S Meiners and carried to approve the 2014-2015 Annual Budget Resolution. 7-0
- b. Motion made by S Meiners, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve the Frontier Motors revised payment for the 2014 Dodge Caravan with bench seat for \$13,050.00. 7-0
- c. Discussion about the former middle school building.
- d. Any items the board wishes to consider-none.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

 a. Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve graduate credits for the following certified staff: Dan Aaker-11 plus Masters, Larry Aaker-2, Linda Bergjord-1, Linda Bertelsen-3, Matt Chambers-1, Wyatt Dejong-7, Cyndy Demers-1, Judy Duffy-2, Diane Durrin-1, Val Ewing-1, Ruby Garner-1, Jon Hanson-1, Johnyne Horstman-1, Mary Hosford-6, Randy Kludt-4, Sam Olson-6, Trent Olson-2, Bonnie Percy-4, Jayd Schuyler-2, Shelley Sharp-1, Crystal Sinkler-2, Shawn Soles-1, CK Storms-1, Joann Streifel-1, Tammy Sund-15, Jolene Vavra-1, Lisa Vesely-2, Nicole Vogt-3, Roger Wonnenberg-1. 7-0

- b. Motion made by B Mann, seconded by S Meiners and carried to approve OST staff resignation of Jolene Thayer. 7-0
- c. Motion made by S Kubik, seconded by B Mann and carried to approve OST staff contract for LeAnn Fischer. 7-0
- d. Hall of Fame Report
- e. 2013-2014 Winner School District Report Card Presentation.
- f. Any other items the board may wish to consider-None.

**SUPERINTENDENT REPORT**: Superintendent Carrier updated the board on the following: New Staff, Enrollment 682, Greenhouse for Ag Dept, Olweus Bullying Program, Oct 23<sup>rd</sup> Brent Gromer presenting to kids/staff, Final 2013-2014 Amended Consent Decree Report should be done shortly.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion made by T Covey, seconded by B Mann and carried to adjourn at 8:31 pm. 7-0

Laura Root	Mike Calhoon
Business Manager	Chairman
Published once at the total approximate cost of \$	