MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Winner Middle School Library, Winner, SD 6:00 P.M. March 12, 2012

President Calhoon called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

RECEIVE PUBLIC INPUT: None.

# **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mike Calhoon, Dr. Tom Covey (6:05), Brenda Jorgensen, Wayne Meyer, Scott Meiners, Steve Kubik and Joe Hockett.

**BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:** None.

**SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT**: Superintendent Carrier, Laura Root, Gerald Witte, Tim Frewing, Brian Naasz, Dan Aaker (7:00) and several other WSD staff members.

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Diane Durrin, 14 speech students and Dan Bechtold, Winner Advocate.

ALL MOTIONS CARRIED BY MAJORITY VOTE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: Add 3 items to new business.

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by W Meyer and carried to approve the amended agenda. 6-0

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

Motion made by S Kubik, seconded by B Jorgensen and carried that all board members had received copies of the minutes of the February 13<sup>th</sup> regular meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections. 6-0

**APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL REPORTS**: Motion made by W Meyer, seconded by S Meiners and carried to approve financial reports as read. 7-0

**APPROVAL OF BILLS**: Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve the bills as submitted. 7-0

REPORTS: Mr. Frewing, Mr. Witte, Mr. Naasz and Mr. Aaker.

# **OLD BUSINESS:**

- a. Motion made by B Jorgensen, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve Senior graduation trip. 7-0
- b. Motion made by S Meiners, seconded by J Hockett and carried to approve Winner Fire Department request to use the Armory at no charge. 7-0
- c. Motion made by S Meiners, seconded by B Jorgensen and carried to approve MMA request to use Middle School Auditorium for May 26<sup>th</sup>. 4-3 W Meyer, J Hockett and S Kubik-No
- d. Motion made by T Covey, seconded by B Jorgensen and carried to approve amended Lunchtime Solutions contract. 7-0
- e. Any other items the board may wish to consider-None.

# **NEW BUSINESS:**

a. Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by W Meyer and carried to approve Armory bleacher bid to low

bidder in the amount of \$138,368.00. 7-0

- b. Impact Aid conference report.
- c. Motion made by B Jorgensen, seconded by S Meiners and carried to approve National Honor Society membership. 7-0
- d. Motion made by S Meiners, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve 4 Day school week for 2012-2013 school year. 7-0
- e. 2012 legislative session update.
- f. Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by S Kubik and carried to approve Josh Vandewalle's resignation at the end of the 2012-2013 school year. 7-0
- g. Motion made by B Jorgensen, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve Winner Playhouse contract for 2012-2013 school year for \$5,500.00. 7-0
- h. Discussion on the future of the Sports Center.
- i. Any other items the board may wish to consider-None.

**SUPERINTENDENT REPORT**: Superintendent Carrier updated the board on the following: Enrollment Update; Dept of Education Accreditation-received new 5 year accreditation; Winner Hall of Fame; Parent Teacher Conference attendance increased; elementary heating issue in north wing; Armory hot water issue; capital outlay plan; preliminary general fund budget; Consent Decree.

Motion made by T Covey, seconded by S Meiners and carried to go into executive session at 8:09pm to discuss student matter, personnel, and negotiations. 7-0

President Calhoon declared executive session over at 9:12pm.

Motion made by B Jorgensen, seconded by T Covey and carried to approve offering 2012-2013 certified staff contracts as recommended by Supt Carrier. Salary to be determined at a later date. Contracts include the following: Tammy Sund, Linda Bergjord, Monica Larson, Shawn Soles, Nicole Vogt, Jaime Keiser, Jolene Vavra, Joan Davis, Michelle Larson, Shelley Sharp, Sarah Anderson, Linda Bertelsen, Marcia Bertram, Matt Chambers, Kim Demers, Johnyne Horstman, Crystal Sinkler, Jan Ringstmeyer, Jo Streifel, Diane Kludt, Ruby Garner, Jacqueline Yeo, Joyce Massa, CK Storms, Ashley Duffy, Lori Haukaas, Amy Paulson, Dan Aaker, Larry Aaker, Robin Curtis, Kris Brockhoft, Karyl Clay, Cyndy Demers, Jim Drake, Judy Duffy, Diane Durrin, Val Ewing, Lindsey Foster, Mark Gronlund, Beth Hamiel, Randy Kludt, Dawn Littau, James Massa, Trent Olson, Bonnie Percy, Jayd Schuyler, Michelle Storms, Rona Volmer, Melody Witte and Roger Wonnenberg. 7-0

Motion made by J Hockett, seconded by W Meyer and carried to approve advertising the following certified staff positions for the 2012-2013 school year: 4<sup>th</sup> grade teacher, Curriculum/Title I Coordinator and MS/HS physical education. 7-0

Motion made by S Kubik, seconded by B Jorgensen and carried to approve contract with Skyler Duffy for speech aide for 2012-2013 school year. 7-0

Discussion on wood floor. April board meeting will be held at 7:00 pm on April 9<sup>th</sup> at the Winner Middle School Library.

**ADJOURNMENT**: Motion made by T Covey, seconded by B Jorgensen and carried to adjourn at 9:18pm. 7-0

Mike Calhoon
Chairman

Published once at the total approximate cost of \$\_\_\_\_\_.