MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Winner Middle School, Winner, SD 7:00 P.M. April 6, 2009

President Blare called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Rocky Blare, Clint Vanneman, Marsha Risseeuw, Ellen Storms, Steve Meyer and Doug Long.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Jim Day

SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT: Mike Hanson, Bill Kaiser, Brian Naasz, Judy Audiss, Stacy Halverson, Laura Root, and Diane Durrin.

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Brad Norrid, Stacy Norrid, Donna Kubik, Steve Kubik, Wayne Meyer, Sharon Naasz, Brad Whitley, Mary Whitley and Brenda Jorgensen.

ALL MEMBERS VOTING AYE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: None

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion made by Risseeuw, seconded by Long and carried to approve the amended agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

President Blare announced that inasmuch as all board members had received copies of the minutes of the March 9th board meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections. There was a correction from the crowd on item number 1 of new business.

VISITORS TO BOARD MEETING: None.

OLD BUSINESS:None

NEW BUSINESS:

1.Motion by Vanneman seconded by Risseeuw and carried to approve the resignation of Valerie Padmore, Winner Middle School teacher, effective the end of the 2008-2009 academic year. Mrs. Padmore is retiring after 19 years of service.

2. Motion by Long seconded by Meyer and carried to approve the resignation of William Burdick, Winner Elementary School custodian, effective the end of the 2008-2009 academic year. Bill is retiring after 31 years of service.

Motion by Vanneman seconded by Long and carried to approve the resignation of Rocky Blare, Winner School District Board of Education chairman, to be effective upon the taking office of his appointed replacement. Rocky was thanked for his years of service and dedication to the Winner School District.
Motion by Meyer seconded by Storms and carried to approve the proposed plan for appointment of replacement Board member. The proposed plan is to post two notices in the Winner Advocate asking for written applications to the business office by April 24th. The Board will set up a three member committee to review the applications. A recommendation will be brought in front of the Board at the May meeting and acted upon. If the Board approves the recommendation, the new Board member will be sworn in at the June meeting and will serve a one year term.

5. Motion by Vanneman, seconded by Risseeuw and carried to approve placing a legal notice for applicants interested in being appointed as replacement Board Member, to be received in the Business Office by not later than April 24th, 2009.

6. Motion by Long, seconded by Meyer to call for executive session to discuss personnel and upcoming negotiations at 7:14pm.

President Blare declared executive session over at 9:00pm.

7.Motion by Long, seconded by Meyer to approve the certified teacher's contracts as per list provided for the 2009/2010 school year. Those contracts include, Dan Aaker, Amanda Audiss, Laura Armstrong, Linda Bergjord, Linda Bertelsen, Marcia Bertram, Deb Boerner, Kris Brockhoft, Derris Buus, Karyl Clay, Jody Coburn, Rhonda Cousins, Joan Davis, Cyndy Demers, Kim Demers, James Drake, Jean Drake, Judy Duffy, Diane Durrin, Clay Ewing, Jessica Ewing, Val Ewing, DeAnne Felix, Vicki Foreman, Ruby Garner, Mark Gronlund, Stacy Halverson, Lori Haukaas, Paige Havranek, Johnyne Horstman, Jaime Keiser, Lori Kingsbury, Diane Kludt, Randy Kludt, Michelle Larson, James Massa, Joyce Massa, Pamela McIntosh, Trent Olson, Nicole Orel, Andrew Overland, Amy Paulson, Bonnie Percy, Cassandra Peterson, Ross Peterson, Jan Ringstmeyer, Shelley Sharp, Shawn Soles, CK Storms, Michelle Storms, Jo Streifel, Tammy Sund, Jolene Vavra, Casey Vietor, Michelle Vietor, Rona Volmer, Seth Webster, Melody Witte and Roger Wonnenberg.

Motion made by Storms, seconded by Vanneman to approve the non-renewal of following positions. Approve non-renewal of Audrey Keierleber, Winner High School paraprofessional, effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve non-renewal of Robin Curtis, Winner Middle School Title I paraprofessional, effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve non-renewal of Kathy Engel, Winner Middle School paraprofessional, effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve non-renewal of Pat Rehak, Winner Elementary School paraprofessional, effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve non-renewal of Joan Mayes, Winner Elementary School paraprofessional, effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve non-renewal of Liane Christensen, Winner Elementary School Title I paraprofessional, effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve non-renewal of Burdena Weidner, Winner Rural School paraprofessional, effective the end of 08-09 academic year.

DISCUSSION ITEMS: Board pay-Clint Vanneman spoke about some of the board members returning their pay to the Winner School District. The Board is unable to stop payment on all board members until the July meeting. April regular meeting has been changed to April 20th at 8:00pm

ADJOURNMENT: Motion made by Long, seconded by Risseeuw to adjourn at 9:12pm.

Mike Hanson Superintendent Rocky Blare Chairman