MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Middle School Library, Winner, SD 7:00 P.M. January 12, 2009

President Blare called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Rocky Blare, Steve Meyer, Ellen Storms, Clint Vanneman, Jim Day, Marsha Risseeuw and Doug Long.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: None.

SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT:

Mike Hanson, Laura Root, Gene Engel, Brian Naasz, Bill Kaiser, Judy Audiss, Jim Drake, DeAnne Felix, Stacy Halverson, DeAnne Jensen, Matt Jensen, Laura Armstrong, Dawn Littau, Tina Dejong and Kim Demers.

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Dan Bechtold and 39 Tripp County Residents.

ALL MEMBERS VOTING AYE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: None.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Motion made by Long, seconded by Vanneman and carried to approve the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

President Blare announced that inasmuch as all board members had received copies of the minutes of the December 22nd special board meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections.

VISITORS TO BOARD MEETING: None.

FINANCIAL REPORTS AND BILLS:

Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Long and carried to approve the bills and financial reports as attached.

REPORTS:

Administrative Reports were given by Jim Drake, Gene Engel, Judy Audiss, DeAnne Felix, Stacy Halverson, Brian Naasz and Bill Kaiser. A representative from the RSTED was not in attendance.

OLD BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS:

1. Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Long and carried to approve setting the annual school board election date as April 14, 2009. This is in coordination with the City Office.

2. Motion made by Day, seconded by Long and carried to approve the resolution to opt out of the state tax limitation in the amount of \$900,000 per year for three years starting with calendar year 2009 taxes payable in the calendar year 2010. This opt out will be for three years which will be through taxes payable in the calendar year 2012. Discussion was held by Steve Novotny, Rocky Blare and Clint Vanneman.

3. Motion made by Long, seconded by Meyer and carried to approve referring the opt out resolution to a vote of the public to approve or disapprove the tax levy opt out pursuant to SDCL 10-12-43. The election will be held on February 24, 2009.

4. Motion made by Long, seconded by Day and carried to approve no increase in salary for the 2009-2010 academic year for administrative staff: Mike Hanson-Superintendent, Laura Root-Business Manager, Judy Audiss-Interim Special Education Director, Brian Naasz-Middle School Principal, Bill Kaiser-Interim High School

Principal, Gerald Witte-High School Principal and Gene Engel-Maintenance Supervisor.

Motion made by Long, seconded by Risseeuw and carried to call for executive session at 7:47 for the purpose of discussing personnel.

President Blare declared executive session over at 8:20.

Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Day and carried to approve items 5-12.

5. Approve the non-renewal of Matt Chambers, Hamill rural school teacher, for the next school year.

6. Approve the non-renewal of Monica Larson, Millboro rural school teacher, for the next school year.

- 7. Approve the non-renewal of Renee Mahon, Winner Elementary counselor, for the next school year.
- 8. Approve the non-renewal of Ted Mahon, Winner Elementary computer teacher, for the next school year.

9. Approve the non-renewal of Crystal Sinkler, Winner Middle School 5th grade teacher, for the next school year.

10. Approve the non-renewal of Dawn Littau, Winner High School math teacher, for the next school year.

11. Approve the non-renewal of Lindsey Foster, Winner High School foreign language teacher, for the next school year.

12. Approve the non-renewal of DeAnne Jensen, Winner High School alternative learning center facilitator, for the next school year.

13. Motion made by Meyer, seconded by Risseeuw and carried to call for executive session at 8:23 for the purpose of evaluating the superintendent and to discuss personnel and upcoming negotiations.

President Blare declared executive session over at 9:35.

14. Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Long and carried to continue Superintendent Hanson's second year of his contract. The board thanked him for his prior year.

15. Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Day and carried to approve Winner Middle School school improvement plan.

16. Motion made by Long, seconded by Meyer and carried to approve declaring as surplus property one 1,000 gallon propane tank and one 800 gallon diesel fuel tank.

DISCUSSION ITEMS: School Board Recognition Week is January 11th-January 17th. Congratulations and thanks to school board members for all you do as a public service. Board retreat will be in April or May depending on where we are at with the opt out. We would like to implement goal setting for the 2009-2010 Academic Year.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Day to adjourn at 9:38.

Laura Root Business Manager Rocky Blare Chairman