MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Middle School Library, Winner, SD 8:00 A.M. January 30, 2009

President Blare called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Rocky Blare, Steve Meyer, Ellen Storms, Clint Vanneman, Marsha Risseeuw and Doug Long.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Jim Day.

SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT: Mike Hanson and Laura Root

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Dan Bechtold

ALL MEMBERS VOTING AYE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: None.

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion made by Meyer, seconded by Long and carried to approve the agenda.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

President Blare announced that inasmuch as all board members had received copies of the minutes of the January 12th board meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections.

VISITORS TO BOARD MEETING: None.

## OLD BUSINESS:

None

# **NEW BUSINESS:**

- 1. Motion made by Long, seconded by Risseeuw and carried to approve Kay Berg, Joy Tyburec and Mary Brown as election board for the February 24, 2009 opt out vote. These three individuals have worked numerous city elections.
- 2. Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Meyer and carried to approve \$150.00 per person payment to election board members. This is the same pay as set by city.
- 3. Motion made by Long, seconded by Storms and carried to approve Winner School District Administration Building, 431 East 7<sup>th</sup> Street, Room 103 Winner, SD as site where the February 24<sup>th</sup> opt out vote will be held. Discussion was held on one voting pole-this is beneficial to the district financially. Absentee voting will begin February 9<sup>th</sup>-ballots can be picked up at the administration building. Absentee ballots must be handed in by 3:00 p.m February 24, 2009 to the administration building.

DISCUSSION ITEMS: None.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion made by Vanneman, seconded by Storms to adjourn at 8:12.

Laura Root Business Manager Rocky Blare Chairman