MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Winner School District 59-2 Winner Middle School, Winner, SD 5:00 P.M. March 9, 2009

President Blare called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Rocky Blare, Clint Vanneman, Marsha Risseeuw, Ellen Storms, Steve Meyer and Doug Long.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Jim Day (Arrived 6:20 p.m.)

SCHOOL PERSONNEL PRESENT: Mike Hanson, Bill Kaiser, Brian Naasz, Judy Audiss, Stacy Halverson, Jim Drake, Dan Aaker, Matt Jensen, Paige Havranek, Diane Durrin, Margaret Schuyler, Jolene Vavra, Lori Kingsbury

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Many residents from Hamill and Millboro as well as city of Winner.

ALL MEMBERS VOTING AYE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: None

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion made by Long, seconded by Meyer and carried to approve the amended agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

President Blare announced that inasmuch as all board members had received copies of the minutes of the February 26th special board meeting and the reading of the minutes would be dispensed with and asked for any additions or corrections.

VISITORS TO BOARD MEETING: Suny Bruun-Winner PTA representative. Discussed goals of PTA and information on upcoming meeting Wednesday, April 1st 7:00 p.m. at Winner Elementary multi purpose room.

FINANCIAL REPORTS AND BILLS: Additional bill from ACET in the amount of \$2587.50 presented to board. Motion made by Vanneman and seconded by Risseeuw to approve the bills and financial reports.

REPORTS: Administrative Reports were given by Jim Drake, Judy Audiss, Stacy Halverson, Brian Naasz and Bill Kaiser. A representative from the RSTED was not in attendance.

OLD BUSINESS:

Chairman Blare recognized Brenda Jorgensen who asked questions of board and administration regarding attorney Rodney Freeman's fees for representing board during upcoming negotiations. She also discussed faculty reductions and administration contracts and benefits.

NEW BUSINESS:

1. Motion by Long seconded by Risseeuw and carried to approve open enrollment application case number 08-04 from Colome School District to Winner School District.

2. Motion by Long seconded by Risseeuw and carried to approve application case number 08-05 from Wood School District to Winner School District.

3. Motion by Vanneman seconded by Storms and carried to approve resolution to become a South Dakota Retirement System Special Pay Program unit.

4. Motion by Risseeuw seconded by Long and carried to advertise for bids for thatching and weed control at school district buildings for spring and summer 2009.

Motion by Vanneman seconded by Meyer and carried to amend agenda items 5 and 7 and add "school board election."

Motion by Risseeuw seconded by Vanneman and carried to approve items 5,6, and 7. 5. Approve Kay Berg, Joy Tyburec, and Mary Brown as election board for the April 14th, 2009 opt out and school board election.

6. Approve \$150 per person payment to election board members.

7. Approve Winner School District Administration Building, 431 East 7th Street, Room 103 as site where the April 14th, 2009 opt out vote and school board election will be held.

Chairman Blare recognized three patrons for comments and questions regarding vote process. Jim Day arrived meeting at 6:20 p.m.

8. Motion by Vanneman seconded by Meyer and carried with Day abstaining to table resolution for the emergency closure of Hamill and Millboro rural schools effective July 1, 2009 until next regular board meeting to be held April 13, 2009. Chairman Blare recognized 25 district patrons for comments and questions regarding closing of Hamill and Millboro rural schools.

Motion made by Day, seconded by Long and carried to call for executive session at 6:30 pm for the purpose of discussing personnel.

President Blare declared executive session over at 7:20 p.m.

Motion made by Day, seconded by Vanneman and carried to approve reduction in force of following positions.

Approve Reduction in Force of extended contract for Cyndy Demers effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of extended contract for Clay Ewing effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of extended contract for Judy Duffy effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of extended contract for Jo Streifel effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Quiz Bowl Co-Advisor position held by Carolyn Karlin Storms effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Community Education position held by Cyndy Demers effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force Middle School Cheer Leading Advisor position held by Erin Grossenburg effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of FCCLA Combined position held by Kris Brockhoft effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Athletic Director position held by James Drake effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Spirit Club Advisor held by Valerie Ewing effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of W Club Advisor position held by Valerie Ewing effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of 2nd High School One Act Play position held by Sandra York effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of W Club position held by Lynnelle Anderson effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Spirit Club position held by Lynnelle Anderson effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Cheerleading Advisor position held by Lori Weiland effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

Approve Reduction in Force of Football Freshman Coach position held by Trent Olson effective the end of the 08-09 academic year.

 Motion by Long seconded by Risseeuw and carried approve the resignation of Valora Eddie as Winner High School Quiz Bowl coach effective the end of the 2008-2009 school year.
Motion by Day seconded by Risseeuw and carried with Risseeuw, Storms, Day, Meyer, Long, Vanneman voting aye and Blare voting nay to approve the non-renewal of Matthew Jensen, Winner High School social studies teacher. Chairman Blare recognized Dawn Covey asking board not to approve nonrenewal of Mr. Jensen.

DISCUSSION ITEMS: Appoint a member to Board of Equalization meeting March 16th. Interested board member will contact Mr. Hanson.

Chairman Blare read a personal statement stating he will entertain resigning his board position at the next regular meeting due to several concerns. Mr. Blare stated the Winner Opt out costs less to the taxpayer's of the Winner School District than the Colome Opt out does to taxpayers living in the Colome district. He encouraged the community to vote in the upcoming board election.

ADJOURNMENT: Chairman Blare asked for a motion to adjourn. So moved by Vanneman. Chairman Blare adjourned the meeting at 7:33 p.m.

Mike Hanson Superintendent Rocky Blare Chairman