Wabasha-Kellogg School Board Meeting March 18, 2015

The Regular Meeting of the School Board was called to order by Vice-Chair John Danckwart at 6:30 p.m. in the W-K Family & Consumer Science Room.

Board Members Present: L. Blaschko; M.J. Bussian; J. Danckwart; A. Nelson; R. Rabehl; P. Rosendale

Board Members Absent: R. Kallstrom

Also Present: Jim Freihammer; Jon Stern; Rob Stewart; Jean Feils; Mike Smith; Sherry El-Nashaar; Stephanie Scheibe

Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Rabehl to approve Agenda. Motion Carried.

Public Comment - None

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Rosendale to approve Consent Agenda. Motion Carried.

- February 18, 2015 Regular School Board Meeting
- District Bills
- Summary of Cash & Investments
- New Hire: Zach Will, JH Softball Coach Step 2, \$1,400.00
- Resignation: Jim Haines –B Squad Softball Coach (1.00 fte)
- New Hire: Christina Riester B Squad Softball Coach (.88 fte) Step 3, \$2,156.00
- New Hire: Jim Haines B Squad Softball Coach (.12 fte) Step 6+, \$315.00
- Lane Change: Lacey York, BA Step 3, \$37,553.00 to BA +10 Step 3, \$37,912.04
- Lane Change: Erin O'Donnell, BA Step 8, \$42,628.00 to BA +10 Step 8, \$42,987.04
- Volunteer: Tom Kuisle, Track & Field
- Volunteer: Jim Pagel, Track & Field
- Volunteer: Steve Gosse, Softball

Reports:

- Jon Stern, Pre-K thru Grade 6 Principal
- Rob Stewart, Grade 7 thru Grade 12 Principal/Activities Director
- Jim Freihammer, Superintendent

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Blaschko to approve Second Reading of Policies 416, 416FRM, 422, 423, 426, 426FRM, 505, 506, 507, 508, 509, 509FRM, 511, 511-1, 511FRM, 511-1FRM, 512, 513, 514, 515, 515FRM, 516, 518, 519, 520, 520FRM, 521, 522, 523, 524, 525, 526, 527, 527FRM, 528. Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Rabehl to approve First Reading of Policies 501, 502, 503, 503-1, 504, 601, 602, 602-1, 603, 608, 608-1, 609, 610, 614, 615, 616, 618, 619, 620. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Blaschko to approve 2015-2016 School Calendar. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Nelson to approve Memorandum of Agreement Between Wabasha-Kellogg ISD 811 and the Distance Minnesota Coalition (*Alexandria Technical & Community College, Normandale Community College, Northland Community & Technical College and Northwest Technical College)*. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Bussian to approve Resolution Appointing District Staff (*Jim Freihammer and Jean Feils*) as Authorized Representatives in Business Affairs with Principal Financial Group, Inc. (*Represented by Computershare Shareholder Services, Inc.*) on the Wabasha-Kellogg Independent School District #811 shares held in the District's behalf. Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, Seconded by Rosendale to approve the 2014-2015 National Honor Society Field Trip to the Wisconsin Dells. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, Seconded by Bussian to approve revised 2014-2015 Fiscal Year Expenditure & Revenue Budgets. Motion Carried.

Fund 1 Rev. - \$6,490,823.05 Fund 2 Rev. - \$352,239.00 Fund 4 Rev. - \$271,652.19 Fund 7 Rev. - \$430,929.81 Fund 1 Exp. - \$6,641,175.21 Fund 2 Exp. - \$354,730.47 Fund 4 Exp. - \$261,354.78 Fund 7 Exp. - \$413,140.00

Board Reports:

- Education Advisory Committee Stern
- Health & Safety Committee Freihammer
- Insurance Committee Freihammer
- Policy Committee Freihammer
- Staff Development Committee Stern/Freihammer
- Technology Advisory Committee Stewart
- HVED Representative Report Rosendale
- Section 1A Nelson
- SSC Representative Report Nelson

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Blaschko to Accept and Thank Donations as Listed on Agenda. Motion Carried.

- Stone Point Photography (Ann Baxter) Three (3) 8x10 Photo Frames, Community Education Elementary Boys Basketball
- Wabasha Area Community Resource Center \$8,000.00, W-K Falcon Homework Program
- Rollerskating Donation Sponsorships -

Each Sponsored Another Student - Arilah House, Pierson & Marnice Willers,

Arabell Heins, Naomi & Ainsley Knox, Kenny Kruse, Lukas Thimmesch, Charlie Traun, Madison Bruehl, Hudson Loechler, Riley Bjorklund, Hannah Mroz, Aleiah Reick, Grahmm Klaus, Lyzander Irvin-Borg, Jorja Heins,

Caden & Macy Kohrs, Zoey Day, Hunter Diepenbrock, Oscar Sailor, Josie Wodele, Levi Sky, Brady Wodele, Max Bergan, Magda Dick, William Sailor, Dakota Bauer, Ava Jeffery, Jasmine Kennebeck and Sierra Hoffman

Sponsored 3 Additional Students - Kaiden Marsh

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Rabehl to Adjourn the Regular Meeting at 8:33 p.m. Motion Carried.