Wabasha-Kellogg Special School Board Meeting - Reorganization January 5, 2015

The Special Meeting of the School Board was called to order by Vice-Chair Rosendale at 6:30 p.m. in the W-K Family & Consumer Science Room.

Board Members Present: L. Blaschko; J. Danckwart; M.J. Bussian; R. Kallstrom; A. Nelson; R. Rabehl; P. Rosendale

Also present: Jim Freihammer; Tammy Wobbe; Mike Smith

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Danckwart to approve Agenda. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Danckwart to approve Resolution to Fill School Board Vacancy with Roland Kallstrom. Motion Carried.

Superintendent Jim Freihammer administered Oath of Office to new School Board Members Lalena Blaschko, Mary Jo Bussian, John Danckwart, Roland Kallstrom, & Rita Rabehl.

Information Items:

Elected Committees (No Positions Available):

- Southeast Service Cooperative Representative Al Nelson
- Three Rivers Conference Representative
- Section 1A Committee Representative Al Nelson

Official Depository

• First State Bank of Wabasha

School Attorney

Motion by Blaschko to nominate Roland Kallstrom & Motion by Rosendale to nominate John Danckwart as Board Chair, seconded by Rabehl. Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Rabehl to close nominations and a paper ballot was cast. The result was four votes for Kallstrom, and three votes for Danckwart, resulting in Roland Kallstrom being nominated as Board Chair. Motion Carried.

John DanckwartRoland KallstromDanckwartBlaschkoKallstromBussianRosendaleNelsonRabehl

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Rosendale to nominate John Danckwart as Vice-Chair. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Rabehl to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for John Danckwart as Vice-Chair. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Bussian to nominate Phil Rosendale as Clerk. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Bussian to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Phil Rosendale as Clerk. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Bussian to nominate Rita Rabehl as Treasurer. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Bussian to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Rita Rabehl as Treasurer. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Nelson to Approve Authorized Signers for Checking Account, Savings Account & Certificate of Deposits at First State Bank, Official Depository. Motion Carried.

- Chair/Clerk (facsimile)
- Superintendent
- Bookkeeper

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Blaschko to approve Authorized Credit Card Purchasers listed below. Motion Carried.

- Jim Freihammer, Superintendent
- Jean Feils, Bookkeeper
- Tammy Wobbe, Superintendent's Secretary

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Nelson to Designate Wabasha County Herald as the Official Newspaper. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Danckwart to set annual compensation for School Board Members. (*Treasurer tabled until January 21, 2015 School Board Meeting*). Motion Carried.

Chair \$ 1,600.00
Clerk/Treasurer \$ 1,600.00
Member \$ 1,300.00

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Rosendale to set annual compensation for School Board Members. Motion Carried. Vote was 6-1 (Yes – Bussian, Danckwart, Kallstrom, Nelson, Rabehl, Rosendale/No – Blaschko). Motion Carried.

• Special and Committee Meeting Compensation Per Meeting Off of School Grounds (Continuing Education, Training, Etc.) \$60.00

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Rabehl to set annual compensation for School Board Members. Motion Carried.

- Negotiations/Negotiations Year
 - a. Paraprofessional Negotiations \$450.00/Year

b. Teacher Negotiations \$450.00/Year

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Bussian to Approve Regular Monthly Meeting Dates for 3rd Wednesday of the Month at 6:30 p.m. with the following exceptions: October Meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Bussian to set December 2, 2015 @ 6:30 p.m. for Truth-in-Taxation Hearing, and December 9, 2015 @ 6:30 p.m. for Truth-in-Taxation Continuation Hearing (*if necessary*). Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Bussian to schedule Quarterly Work Sessions for 6:00 p.m. on February 4, 2015, April 29, 2015, August 5, 2015 and November 4, 2015. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Blaschko to Designate School Board Committee Representatives as presented. Motion Carried.

- Activities Advisory Committee Bussian, Nelson
- Administration, Evaluation & Negotiations Committee –Danckwart, Kallstrom, Rosendale
- Board Grievance/Meet and Confer Committee –Nelson, Rabehl, Rosendale
- Building & Grounds Committee–Blaschko, Rabehl, Nelson
- Common Board Committee (City, County, School) Danckwart, Kallstrom, Rosendale
- Community Education Advisory Committee Bussian, Kallstrom
- Community Relations Committee Blaschko, Nelson, Rabehl
- Curriculum Advisory Committee Blaschko, Bussian, Rabehl
- Delegate Assembly/Legislative Liaison Representative Rosendale
- Health & Safety Committee Danckwart
- Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative Rosendale
- Insurance Committee Danckwart
- Minnesota State High School League Representative Nelson
- Paraprofessional & Classified Negotiations Committee Blaschko, Danckwart, Rabehl
- Policy Committee Blaschko, Bussian, Rosendale
- Resource Selection Representative Bussian
- Staff Development Advisory Committee Rosendale
- Teacher Negotiations Committee Danckwart, Kallstrom, Rosendale
- Technology Advisory Committee Kallstrom
- Transportation Negotiations Committee Danckwart, Kallstrom, Nelson
- Section 1A (Elected) Nelson
- Southeast Service Cooperative Representative (*Elected*) Nelson
- Three Rivers Conference Representative (*Elected*) (*none*)

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Nelson to Designate Official School District Bulletin Board. Motion Carried.

• District Office Bulletin Board (Outside of District Office)

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Blaschko to Designate Official School District Posting Locations. Motion Carried.

- School District Website: <u>www.wabasha-kellogg.k12.mn.us</u>
- Official School District Bulletin Board
- Wabasha Public Library

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Nelson to adjourn the special meeting at 7:34 p.m. Motion Carried.