## Wabasha-Kellogg Special School Board Meeting - Reorganization January 8, 2014

The Special Meeting of the School Board was called to order by Chair Kallstrom at 6:34 p.m. in the W-K Family & Consumer Science Room.

Board Members Present: L. Blaschko; J. Danckwart; H. Diepenbrock; Roland Kallstrom; A. Nelson; R. Rabehl; P. Rosendale

Also present: Jim Freihammer; Jean Feils; Mike Smith

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Rabehl to approve Agenda. Motion Carried.

Oath of Office - None

## **Information Items:**

Elected Committees (No Positions Available):

- Southeast Service Cooperative Representative Al Nelson
- Three Rivers Conference Representative
- Section 1A Committee Representative Al Nelson

## Official Depository

• First State Bank of Wabasha

School Attorney

Motion by Rosendale, seconded by Diepenbrock to nominate Roland Kallstrom as Board Chair. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Nelson to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Roland Kallstrom as Board Chair. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Danckwart to nominate Phil Rosendale as Vice-Chair. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Diepenbrock to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Phil Rosendale as Vice-Chair. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Diepenbrock to nominate Rita Rabehl as Clerk/Treasurer. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Nelson to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Rita Rabehl as Clerk/Treasurer. Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Rosendale to Approve Authorized Signers for Checking Account, Savings Account & Certificate of Deposits at First State Bank, Official Depository. Motion Carried.

• Chair/Clerk (facsimile)

- Superintendent
- Bookkeeper

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Danckwart to approve Authorized Credit Card Purchasers listed below. Motion Carried.

- Jim Freihammer, Superintendent
- Jean Feils, Bookkeeper
- Tammy Wobbe, Superintendent's Secretary

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Rosendale to Designate Wabasha County Herald as the Official Newspaper. Motion Carried.

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Nelson to set annual compensation as amended for School Board Members. Motion Carried. (Special and Committee Meeting Compensation Per Meeting Off of School Grounds (Continuing Education, Training, Etc.) (Currently: \$60.00)

Chair \$ 1,600.00
Clerk/Treasurer \$ 1,600.00
Member \$ 1,300.00

- Special & Committee Meeting Compensation (off of school grounds) \$60.00
- Negotiations/Negotiations Year (Payable at end of Quarter of ratification of contract)
  - Paraprofessional Negotiations- Teacher Negotiations\$ 450.00/year450.00/year

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Blaschko to Approve Regular Monthly Meeting Dates for 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of the Month at 6:30 p.m. with the following exceptions: January 15, 2014 Meeting will be moved to January 23, 2014 @ 6:30 p.m. and October Meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Motion Carried.

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Blaschko to set December 3, 2014 for Truth-in-Taxation Hearing, and December 10, 2014 for Truth-in-Taxation Continuation Hearing (*if necessary*). Motion Carried.

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Blaschko to schedule Quarterly Work Sessions for 6:00 p.m. on February 5, 2014, April 30, 2014, August 6, 2014 and November 5, 2014. Motion Carried.

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Rosendale to Designate School Board Committee Representatives as presented. Motion Carried.

- Activities Advisory Committee Diepenbrock, Nelson
- Administration, Evaluation & Negotiations Committee Danckwart, Kallstrom, Rosendale
- Board Grievance/Meet and Confer Committee –Nelson, Rabehl, Rosendale
- Building & Grounds/Health & Safety Committee Blaschko, Rabehl, Nelson
- Common Board Committee (City, County, School) Danckwart, Kallstrom, Rosendale
- Community Education Advisory Committee Diepenbrock, Kallstrom
- Community Relations Committee Blaschko, Nelson, Rabehl
- Curriculum Advisory Committee Blaschko, Diepenbrock, Rabehl
- Delegate Assembly/Legislative Liaison Representative Rosendale
- District Insurance Committee Danckwart
- District Policy Committee Blaschko, Diepenbrock, Rosendale

- Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative Rosendale
- Minnesota State High School League Representative Nelson
- Paraprofessional & Classified Negotiations Committee Blaschko, Danckwart, Rabehl
- Resource Selection Representative Diepenbrock
- Staff Development Advisory Committee Rabehl
- Teacher Negotiations Committee Danckwart, Kallstrom, Rosendale
- Technology Advisory Committee Kallstrom
- Transportation Negotiations Committee Danckwart, Kallstrom, Nelson
- Section 1A (Elected) Nelson
- Southeast Service Cooperative Representative (Elected) Nelson
- Three Rivers Conference Representative (*Elected*) (*none*)

Motion by Nelson, seconded by Danckwart to Designate Official School District Bulletin Board. Motion Carried.

• District Office Bulletin Board (outside of District Office)

Motion by Rabehl, seconded by Diepenbrock to Designate Official School District Posting Locations. Motion Carried.

- School District Website: <u>www.wabasha-kellogg.k12.mn.us</u>
- Official School District Bulletin Board
- Wabasha Public Library

Motion by Danckwart, seconded by Nelson to adjourn the special meeting at 7:15 p.m. Motion Carried.