Wabasha-Kellogg School Board Meeting October 18, 2023

Members present: Ender; Klennert; Meyer (arrived after vote on Resolution regarding Polling

Places); Roendale; Venz.

Members absent: Adams; Jeffery.

Administration present: Onstad; Wasmund (zoom).

Visitors present: Kathy Miller; Kristi Kropp; Frank Klennert.

Students present: None.

The Regular Meeting of the School Board was called to order by Chair Phil Rosendale at 5:04 p.m. in Room 141.

Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Ender, seconded by Venz to approve Agenda. Motion Carried.

Recognition of Visitors and Correspondence: None.

Public Comment: None.

Motion by Klennert, seconded by Venz to approve Consent Agenda. Motion Carried 4-0-0.

- Approval of Minutes: September 20, 2023 (Regular) and October 4, 2023 (Special)
- District Bills
- Personnel

Resignation: Matthew Gathercole – Custodian Resignation: Kristin Boda – Spanish Teacher

New Hire: Ryan Miller – Custodian New Hire: Chris Keller – Math Team

New Hire: Chad Meurer – Boys Basketball – Junior High

New Hire: Jenny Marx – Dance Team – Head New Hire: Sarah Smith – Dance Team – Assistant New Hire: Karlee Fick – Dance Team – Junior High

New Hire: Ron Sanders – Wrestling New Hire: Shary Meurer – Falcon Nest

New Hire: Kristina Norgren - Paraprofessional

Assignment Change: Bobbie Passe – increase from .5 to .75 FTE (FVCA and W-K)

Maternity Leave – Abigail Langlois (FVCA)

Board Member Klennert moved the adoption of the following Resolution:

RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING COMBINED POLLING PLACES FOR MULTIPLE PRECINCTS AND DESIGNATING HOURS DURING WHICH THE POLLING PLACES WILL REMAIN OPEN FOR VOTING FOR SCHOOL DISTRICT ELECTIONS NOT HELD ON THE DAY OF A STATEWIDE ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 811, State of Minnesota, as follows:

- 1. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 205A.11, the precincts and polling places for school district elections are those precincts or parts of precincts located within the boundaries of the school district which have been established by the cities or towns located in whole or in part within the school district. The board hereby confirms those precincts and polling places so established by those municipalities.
- 2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 205A.11, the board may establish a combined polling place for several precincts for school district elections not held on the day of a statewide election. **Each combined polling place must be a polling place that has been designated by a county or municipality.** The following combined polling places are established to serve the precincts specified for all school district special and general elections not held on the same day as a statewide election:

Combined Polling Places:

St. Agnes Parish Hall (Glasgow Township, Highland Township, Minneiska Township, Oakwood Township, Watopa Township, Kellogg City)
120 West Belvidere Avenue
Kellogg, MN 55945

Greenfield Township Hall (Greenfield Township, Pepin Township) 66767 County Road 76 Wabasha, MN 55981

Wabasha City Hall (Wabasha City Wards 1, 2, and 3, West Albany Township, Lake Township)
900 Hiawatha Drive East
Wabasha, MN 55981

Note: See Section 2.3.2 of the Election Manual regarding changing polling places in the case of an emergency or if the polling place is no longer available.

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 205A.09, the polling places will remain open for voting for school district elections not held on the same day as a statewide election between the hours of 7:00 o'clock a.m. and 8:00 o'clock p.m.

Note: See Section 3.6 of the Election Manual regarding certain restrictions on voting hours.

- 4. The clerk is directed to file a certified copy of this resolution with the county auditors of each of the counties in which the school district is located, in whole or in part, within thirty (30) days after its adoption.
- 5. As required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 204B.16, Subdivision 1a, the clerk is hereby authorized and directed to give written notice of new polling place locations to each affected household with at least one registered voter in the school district whose school district polling place location has been changed. The notice must be a nonforwardable notice mailed at least twenty-five (25) days before the date of the first election to which it will apply. A notice that is returned as undeliverable must be forwarded immediately to the appropriate county auditor, who shall change the registrant's status to "challenged" in the statewide registration system.

(<u>If a combined polling place is changed</u>, the change must be adopted at least ninety (90) days prior to the first election where it will be used unless that polling place has become unavailable for use.)

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Ender. On a roll call vote, the following voted in favor: Ender, Klennert, Rosendale, and Venz.

and the following voted against: None. (Meyer was not present at the time of roll call vote.)

Whereupon said resolution was duly passed and adopted 4-0-0.

Motion by Venz, seconded by Klennert to approve FVCA Contract (online Spanish provider). Motion carried 5-0-0.

Motion by Ender, seconded by Klennert to approve Seniority Lists. Motion carried 5-0-0.

Reports:

- Anne Wasmund, W-K FVCA
- Kathy Miller, Business Manager
- Nels Onstad, Superintendent

Information Items:

- Policy Review
- Points of Pride

Board Reports:

- HVED Representative Report Rosendale.
- Policy Committee Rosendale; Onstad.
- Teacher Negotiations Committee Onstad.

Motion by Meyer, seconded by Venz to accept donations listed on Agenda. Motion carried 5-0-0.

Booster Club:

```
$74.75 - Coaching Dues - Tim Klingbeil - Football
$171.96 - Coaching Dues - Jenny Marx - Dance
$69.75 - Coaching Dues - John Thyren - Cross Country
$63.50 - Coaching Dues - Sarah Neimeyer - Track & Field
```

• PTO:

\$900 – to PE for 9-square \$250 – to teachers for student book fair purchases \$175 – Special Education program

• Millville Hunting & Shooting Club:

\$1,500 to Trap Team

Motion by Meyer, seconded by Klennert to Adjourn the Regular Meeting at 6:11 p.m. Motion carried 5-0-0.