## **Board Meeting Minutes November 14, 2022**

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in a special school board meeting in the Superintendent's Office of the elementary building. The meeting was called to order by Chair Matt Blocker at 7:02 a.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. The school board members present were Matt Blocker, Erin Hammell, Leigh King, Melissa Marschall, Daniel Small and Spencer Yohe. Also present were Superintendent Craig Ihrke and Karen Schiltz. Absent was Director Wendy Woyczik.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

### **TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED**

Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District Special Election

Director Daniel Small introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

# RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 299 GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by School Board of Independent School District No. 299 as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 8, 2022, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified by the Houston County Auditor's Office, a total of 3,439 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of four school board members for four-year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Derek Adamson 1,393 votes

Tim Gunn 1,135 votes

Jon Kochie 844 votes

Seth Louks 875 votes

Melissa Marschall 1,075 votes

Mike Peterson 1,385 votes

Write-in Candidates 609

3. Candidates Derek Adamson, Tim Gunn, Melissa Marschall, and Mike Peterson having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January 2023.

4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Director Leah King, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following board members voted in favor thereof: Matt Blocker, Erin Hammell, Leigh King, Melissa Marschall, Daniel Small, and Spencer Yohe. The following voted against the same: None. Absent was Director Wendy Woyczik.

Whereupon, the Board of Chairperson declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 14<sup>th</sup> day of November, 2022, at a special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District 299, Caledonia, Minnesota.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Moved by Erin Hammell, seconded by Danie	el Small to adjourn the meeting at 7:07 a.m. Motio	n
carried by a unanimous vote.		
	Spencer Yohe, Clerk	