Board Meeting Minutes January 4, 2021

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in an organizational school board meeting held in the elementary building room 106 with social distancing in mind for all visitors due to the COVID-19 pandemic and interactive technology via Zoom. The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Wendy Woyczik at 6:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. The school board members present were Matt Blocker, Leigh King, Daniel Small, Wendy Woyczik, and Spencer Yohe. Others present were Superintendent Craig Ihrke, Karen Schiltz, and Barb Meyer. Absent was Director Melissa Marschall.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Matt Blocker to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ACTION ITEMS

Appointment of New School Board Member and Administering of Oath of Office

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to appoint Leigh King as a new school board member effective January 1, 2021, and administer the Oath of Office. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Election of Officers – 2021

Moved by Matt Blocker, seconded by Daniel Small to nominate Director Matt Blocker for the office of Chairperson. Director Wendy Woyczik called for nominations three times. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to close nominations for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to nominate Director Wendy Woyczik for the office of Vice Chairperson. Director Wendy Woyczik called for nominations three times. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to close nominations for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Daniel Small to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office of Clerk. Director Woyczik called for nominations three times. Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Daniel Small to close nominations for the office of Clerk. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to nominate Director Melissa Marschall for the office of Treasurer. Director Wendy Woyczik called for nominations three times. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Daniel Small to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office Legislative Liaison. Director Wendy Woyczik called for nominations three times. Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Daniel Small to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Moved by Daniel Small, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to approve the candidates for the office as stated above. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Daniel Small to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be at 6:00 p.m.; and place of meetings to be in Middle/High School Auditorium unless otherwise designated. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Meeting Dates of January 18, 2021, February 15, 2021, and September 20, 2021, Regular School Board <u>Meetings</u>

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Spencer Yohe to hold the January 18, 2021, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, January 19, 2021, the February 15, 2021, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, February 16, 2021, and the September 20, 2021, regular school board meeting on

Monday, September 27, 2021. These meetings will be held in the Middle/High School Auditorium at 6:00 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Board Compensation

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Daniel Small to set the compensation for regular, special and committee meetings at \$50.00 per meeting attended; \$75.00 for two consecutive committee meetings attended in a row; \$200.00 per day for an all-day meeting and \$100.00 per half day meeting; and mileage allowance per the IRS Guidelines. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Depositories

Moved by Daniel Small, seconded by Leigh King to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank, Bank of the West, or Eitzen State Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Use of Electronic Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to authorize the Business Manager/Finance Director and the Superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Daniel Small to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Leigh King to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Appointment of Board Committee Members

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Leigh King to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Wendy Woyczik to the Activities Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker, Leigh King and Wendy Woyczik to the Administrative Negotiations Committee: to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Melissa Marschall to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Daniel Small to the Facilities Committee; to appoint Directors Leigh King and Melissa Marschall to the Finance Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Director Matt Blocker to the Houston County Collaborative Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Spencer Yohe to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director Wendy Woyczik as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe to the Qcomp Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Wendy Woyczik to the Strategic Planning Committee (World's Best Workforce); to appoint Directors Matt Blocker, Melissa Marschall, and Spencer Yohe to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker, Leigh King, and Daniel Small to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Leigh King and Melissa Marschall to the Technology/Curriculum/PSEO/On-line Learning Committee. Motions for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

School Lawyer

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Leigh King to name the following as school lawyers: Murphy Law Office; Knutson, Flynn & Deans, P.A.; Kennedy & Graven, Chartered; Ratwick, Roszak, & Maloney, P.A. Firm; and Wieser Law Office. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Auditor

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Leigh King to name Clifton Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Policies

The following policies listed below were reviewed by the school board as mandated to do on an annual basis:

- Family and Medical Leave Policy #410
- Harassment and Violence Policy \$413
- Mandated Reporting of Child Neglect or Physical or Sexual Abuse Policy #414
- Mandated Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable Adults Policy #415
- Student Discipline Policy #506
- Bullying Prohibition Policy #514
- Student Sex Nondiscrimination Policy #522
- Internet Acceptable Use and Safety Policy #524
- School District Accountability Policy #616
- Crisis Management Policy #806
- Health and Safety Policy #807

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to adjourn the meeting at 6:51 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Spencer Yohe, Clerk