Board Meeting Minutes January 10, 2022

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in an organizational school board meeting held in the elementary building room 106 and interactive technology via Zoom. The meeting was called to order by Chair Matt Blocker at 6:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. The school board members present were Matt Blocker, Erin Hammell, Leigh King, Melissa Marschall, Daniel Small, Wendy Woyczik, and Spencer Yohe. Others present were Superintendent Craig Ihrke and Karen Schiltz.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Melissa Marschall to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ACTION ITEMS

Election of Officers – 2022

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to nominate Director Matt Blocker for the office of Chairperson. Director Matt Blocker called for nominations three times. Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Erin Hammell to close nominations for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Melissa Marschall to nominate Director Wendy Woyczik for the office of Vice Chairperson. Director Matt Blocker called for nominations three times. Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Erin Hamell to close nominations for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Leigh King to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office of Clerk. Director Matt Blocker called for nominations three times. Moved by Erin Hammell, seconded by Melissa Marschall to close nominations for the office of Clerk. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Leigh King to nominate Director Melissa Marschall for the office of Treasurer. Director Matt Blocker called for nominations three times. Moved by Erin Hammell, seconded by Leigh King to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Erin Hammell to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office Legislative Liaison. Director Matt Blocker called for nominations three times. Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Moved by Daniel Small, seconded by Leigh King to approve the candidates for the office as stated above. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be at 6:00 p.m.; and place of meetings to be in Middle/High School Auditorium unless otherwise designated. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

<u>Meeting Dates of January 17, 2022, February 21, 2022, and September 19, 2022, Regular School Board Meetings</u>

Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to hold the January 17, 2022, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, January 18, 2022, the February 21, 2022, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, February 22, 2022, and the September 19, 2022, regular school board meeting on Monday, September 26, 2022. These meetings will be held in the Middle/High School Auditorium at 6:00 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Board Compensation

Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Leigh King to set the compensation for regular, special and committee meetings at \$50.00 per meeting attended; \$75.00 for two consecutive committee meetings attended in a row; \$200.00 per day for an all-day meeting and \$100.00 per half day meeting; and mileage allowance per the IRS Guidelines. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Depositories

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Leigh King to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank, Bank of the West, or Eitzen State Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Use of Electronic Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to authorize the Business Manager/Finance Director and the Superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator

Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Leigh King to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Wendy Woyczik to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

<u>Appointment of Board Committee Members</u>

Moved by Wendy Woyczik, seconded by Melissa Marschall to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Wendy Woyczik to the Activities Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker, Leigh King and Wendy Woyczik to the Administrative Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Erin Hammell and Melissa Marschall to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Daniel Small to the Facilities Committee; to appoint Directors Leigh King and Melissa Marschall to the Finance Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Director Erin Hammell to the Houston County Collaborative Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Spencer Yohe to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director Leigh King as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe to the Qcomp Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker and Wendy Woyczik to the Strategic Planning Committee (World's Best Workforce); to appoint Directors Matt Blocker, Melissa Marschall, and Spencer Yohe to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Matt Blocker, Leigh King, and Daniel Small to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Erin Hammell and Leigh King to the Technology/Curriculum/PSEO/On-line Learning Committee. Motions for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

School Lawyer

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Leigh King to name the following as school lawyers: Murphy Law Office; Knutson, Flynn & Deans, P.A.; Kennedy & Graven, Chartered; Ratwick, Roszak, & Maloney, P.A. Firm; and Wieser Law Office. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Auditor

Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Erin Hammell to name Clifton Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Approval of Phone Vendor

This item was tabled for the January 18, 2022, regular school board meeting.

School Policies

The following policies listed below were reviewed by the school board as mandated to do on an annual basis:

- Family and Medical Leave Policy #410
- Harassment and Violence Policy \$413
- Mandated Reporting of Child Neglect or Physical or Sexual Abuse Policy #414
- Mandated Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable Adults Policy #415
- Student Discipline Policy #506
- Bullying Prohibition Policy #514
- Student Sex Nondiscrimination Policy #522
- Internet Acceptable Use and Safety Policy #524
- School District Accountability Policy #616
- Crisis Management Policy #806
- Health and Safety Policy #807

The first reading of the policy listed below was held and will be adopted at the regular school board meeting to be held in January of 2022:

Mandatory COVID-19 Vaccination or Testing and Face Coverings Policy #431

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Melissa Marschall, s	econded by Wendy	Woyczik to adjo	urn the meeting at	6:44 p.m
Motion carried by a unanimous vote.				

Spencer Yohe, Clerk