# **Board Meeting Minutes November 13, 2017**

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in a special school board meeting in the Caledonia Area Public School District Office, Caledonia, Minnesota. The meeting was called to order by School Board Chair Kelley McGraw. The school board members present were Melissa Marschall, Emily McGonigle, Kelley McGraw, Michelle Werner, Spencer Yohe, and Karen Schiltz. Absent were Directors Jared Barnes and Jimmy Westland.

### **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

Moved by Emily McGonigle, seconded by Michelle Werner to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## **TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED**

Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District Special Election

Member Spencer Yohe moved the adoption of the following resolution:

# RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 299, State of Minnesota, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the special election of the voters of this school district held on November 7, 2017, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, at said election a total of 856 voters of the school district voted on the question of approving referendum revenue authorization of the school district for taxes payable in 2018 and thereafter (SCHOOL DISTRICT QUESTION 1), of which 645 voted in favor, 210 voted against the same, and there were 0 completely blank or defective ballots. Said proposition, having received the approval of at least a majority of such votes, is hereby declared to have carried.
- 3. The clerk is hereby directed to certify the results of the election to the county auditors of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part. The clerk is also directed to report the results of the referendum revenue authorization election to the Commissioner of Education within fifteen (15) days of the date hereof.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Member Melissa Marschall and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Melissa Marschall, Emily McGonigle, Kelley McGraw, Michelle Werner, and Michelle Werner. The following voted against the same: None. Absent were Directors Jared Barnes and Jimmy Westland. Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Emily McGonigle to adjourn the meeting at 5:14 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Spencer Yoh, Clerk	