Board Meeting Minutes January 5, 2016

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in an organizational school board meeting in the Middle/High School Media Center. The meeting was called to order by Director Kelley McGraw at 5:30 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. The school board members present were Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, Jimmy Westland and Spencer Yohe. Also present were Superintendent Ben Barton and Karen Schiltz.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ACTION ITEMS

Election of Officers – 2016

Moved by Amanda King, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director Kelley McGraw for the office of Chairperson. Director McGraw called for nominations three times. Motion by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jared Barnes to close the nominations for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director Michelle Werner for the office of Vice Chairperson. Director McGraw called for nominations three times. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Amanda King to close the nominations for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Amanda King to nominate Director Jean Meyer for the office of Clerk. Director McGraw called for nominations three times. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Jared Barnes to close the nominations for the office of Clerk. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Michelle Werner to nominate Director Amanda King for the office of Treasurer. Director McGraw called for nominations three times. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Spencer Yohe to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office Legislative Liaison. Director McGraw called for nominations three times. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Jared Barnes to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Michelle Werner to approve the candidates for the office as stated above. Those voting in favor: Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe. Those opposed: Jimmy Westland. Motion carried.

Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Michelle Werner to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be at 6:00 p.m.; and place of meetings to be in the middle/high school media center unless otherwise designated. The board will also schedule some of these regular board meetings to be held in the surrounding communities at a date to be determined. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Meeting Dates of January 18, 2016 and February 15, 2016 School Board Meetings

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Jean Meyer to hold the January 18, 2016, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, January 19, 2016, at 6:00 p.m. in the Middle/High School Media Center, and the February 15, 2016, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, February 16, 2016, at 6:00 p.m. in the Middle/High School Media Center. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Board Compensation

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Amanda King to set the compensation for regular, special and committee meetings at \$50.00 per meeting attended; \$75.00 for two consecutive committee meetings attended in a row; out of district meetings attended at \$125.00 per day and \$75.00 per half day; and mileage allowance per the IRS Guidelines. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Depositories

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jared Barnes to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Use of Electronic Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Amanda King, seconded by Michelle Werner to authorize the Business Manager/Finance Director and the Superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Office Manger/Human Resource Coordinator

Moved by Jared Barnes, seconded by Spencer Yohe to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Jimmy Westland, seconded by Jared Barnes to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Appointment of Temporary Committees:

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Jean Meyer to appoint Directors Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Activities Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes, Jean Meyer and Michelle Werner to the Administrative Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw and Jean Meyer to the Building, Grounds and Transportation Committee; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Jimmy Westland to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes and Jimmy Westland to the Curriculum/PSEO/On-line Learning Committee; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Michelle Werner to the Finance Committee; to appoint Director Amanda King to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw and Michelle Werner to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director Jean Meyer as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Directors Amanda King, Jean Meyer, and Spencer Yohe to the Strategic Planning Committee (World's Best Workforce); to appoint Directors Jared Barnes, Amanda King and Jean Meyer to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw, Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes and Jean Meyer to the Technology Committee. Motions for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

School Lawyer

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Jimmy Westland to name as lawyers: Knutson, Flynn Deans, P.A.; and Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm; and Kennedy & Graven for student/employee matters, and Hammell & Murphy Law Office for property and other local concerns. Those voting in favor: Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Jimmy Westland and Spencer Yohe. Director Michelle Werner abstained. Motion carried.

School Auditor

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Amanda King to name Clifton Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

OTHER TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

School Policies

The first reading of the following mandated annual policies were reviewed by the board and the adoption of these policies will take place at the January regular school board meeting:

- Family and Medical Leave Policy #410
- Harassment and Violence Policy \$413
- Mandated Reporting of Child Neglect or Physical or Sexual Abuse Policy #414
- Mandated Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable Adults Policy #415
- Student Discipline Policy #506
- Bullying Prohibition Policy #514
- Student Sex Nondiscrimination Policy #522
- Internet Acceptable Use and Safety Policy #524
- Crisis Management Policy #806
- Health and Safety Policy #807

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to adjourn the meeting at 5:45 p.m	. Motion
carried by a unanimous vote.	

Jean Meyer, Clerk	