Board Meeting Minutes May 11, 2016

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, along with the City of Caledonia Officials and Houston County Commissioners met in a joint special meeting in the Middle/High School Auditorium. The meeting was called to order by Chair Kelley McGraw at 6:30 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. The school board members present were Jared Barnes, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, Jimmy Westland, and Spencer Yohe. The City of Caledonia Officials present were Adam Swann, Josh Gran, Robert Burns, Paul Fisch, Robert Lemke, and DeWayne Schroeder. The Houston County Commissioners present were Dana Kjome, Steve Schuldt, Judy Storlie, Teresa Walter, and Justin Zmyewski. Also present were Superintendent Ben Barton, Barb Meyer, Karen Schiltz, Dan McGonigle, Duane Thomford, Berdell Meiners, Patricia Kaufamann, Matt Klug, Andy Allen, Stan Bahr, Harley Doering, Eric Benson, Leanne Benson, Bea Doering, Gerry Klug, Gloria Ann Robley, Quentin Robley, Steve Reiman, Jim Hobelsberger, Brian Pogodzinski, Margie Ferring, Don Ferring, Mark Schiltz, Kari Neumann, Jerome Neumann, Audrey Almo, Don Meiners, Ted Hanson, Chuck Schulte, Polly Heberlein, Gary Heberlein, Bog Klug, Nathan Hagerott, Lawrence Knuston, Loretta Knutson, Andy Milde, Leah Milde, Bruce Kuehmichel, Deb Cody, Deb Knutson, Keith Comstock, Charles Wiegrefe, Eric Johnson, Loren Lapham, Wesley Lapham, Gerald Dix, Bruce Bulman, David Klinski, Susan Kittleson, Peter Kittleson, George Kittleson, Tom Sawle, Deborah Dewey, John Dewey, Dianne Schulze, Edward Voight, Athena Kolle, Thor Kolle, Ann Thompson, Ken Tschumper, Todd Roesler, Mary Roesler, Lee Svehaug, Dan Griffin, Yvonne Krogstad, Dale Goergen, Vern Fruechte, Paul Weichert, Scott Dolle, Leo Dolle, John Schulte, Fred Arnold, Laurel Rusert, Doug Rusert, Scott Connor, Carol Schiltz, Tony Schiltz, Sheila Schroeder, Mark Schulte, Liza Jandt, Dave Jandt, Stan Meyer, and Al Fruechte . Absent was Director Amanda King.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

BOARD SHOWCASE

County Highway Shop

The County Board Chair Judy Storlie gave a presentation with regard to the current condition of the county highway shop, which lasted approximately twelve minutes. After that presentation, there was a discussion amongst the county commissioners, city council members and school board members in relation to the size and location sites being discussed for the new county highway shop with the discussion lasting approximately forty-five minutes.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Community members requested to address the three public entities with regard to their ideas and concerns as it related to the new county highway shop being built. Discussions were held amongst the community member and boards, which lasted approximately forty-five minutes.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Superintendent Barton thanked everyone for attending and stated that leaders in these positions take criticism often and someone will always be upset no matter what the decision. He thanked the boards and council members for taking the time to listen to the community's comments.

Chair McGraw thanked everyone for attending and asked the county commissioners to consider not putting the county highway shop adjacent to the middle/high school building. He hoped to see the three boards work together to find a solution for this project.

City Council Member Burns stated that he would like to see an agreement in place with placing the county highway shop facility at the existing site and feels it is a workable solution.

Director Werner cautioned the county commissioners with overbuilding the shop as you will need to find ways to maintain that building.

County Commissioner Zmyewski thanked the community and the three entities for coming together and attending this meeting. Director Kjome stated that a county highway shop is needed and is hoping that the county board will come together with an idea with something good, not overspending, and keeping the taxpayers in mind with their decision.

ADJOURNMENT

	Moved by	Spencer \	Yohe, s	seconded	by Jimmy	Westland	to adjourn	n the mo	eeting at	8:23	p.m.
Motior	n carried by	y a unanim	ous vo	ote.							

Jean Meyer, Clerk