Board Meeting Minutes January 13, 2014

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in an organizational school board meeting in the Middle/High School Media Center. The meeting was called to order by Chair Michelle Werner at 7:05 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. The school board members present were Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. Also present were Superintendent Ben Barton, Nancy Runningen, Barb Meyer, and Karen Schiltz. Absent were Paul DeMorett and student school board representatives Julia Jones and Lauren Perry.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Amanda King to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ACTION ITEMS

Election of Officers – 2014

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director Michelle Werner for the office of Chairperson. Chair Werner called for nominations three times. Motion by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Kelley McGraw to close the nominations for the office of Chairperson. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director Kelley McGraw for the office of Vice Chairperson. Chair Werner called for nominations three times. Moved by Jared Barnes, seconded by Jean Meyer to close the nominations for the office of Vice Chairperson. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Amanda King to nominate Director Jean Meyer for the office of Clerk. Chair Werner called for nominations three times. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jared Barnes to close the nominations for the office of Clerk. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director Melissa Marschall for the office of Treasurer. Chair Werner called for nominations three times. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Spencer Yohe to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office Legislative Liaison. Chair Werner called for nominations three times. Moved by Jared Barnes, seconded by Jean Meyer to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Melissa Marschall to approve the candidates for the office as stated above. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Melissa Marschall to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be at 6:00 p.m.; and place of meetings to be in the middle/high school media center unless otherwise designated. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Meeting Dates of January 20, 2014 and February 17, 2014 School Board Meetings

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Jared Barnes to hold the January 20, 2014, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, January 21, 2014, at 7:00 p.m. in the Middle/High School Media Center, and the February 17, 2014, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, February 18, 2014, at 6:00 p.m. in the Middle/High School Media Center. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Board Compensation

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Amanda King to table the board compensation action item until the January 21, 2014, regular school board meeting. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Depositories

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Melissa Marschall to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

<u>Use of Facsimile Signatures and Authorization of Investments</u>

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Amanda King to authorize the Business Manager/Finance Director and the Superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

<u>Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Office Manger/Human Resource Coordinator</u>

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Melissa Marschall to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Jared Barnes to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Appointment of Temporary Committees:

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to appoint Directors Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Activities Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes, Jean Meyer and Michelle Werner to the Administrative Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw and Jean Meyer to the Building, Grounds and Transportation Committee; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Melissa Marschall to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes and Melissa Marschall to the Curriculum/PSEO/On-line Learning Committee; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Melissa Marschall to the Finance Committee; to appoint Director Amanda King to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw and Michelle Werner to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director Jean Meyer as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Directors Amanda King, Jean Meyer, and Spencer Yohe to the Strategic Planning Committee (World's Best Workforce); to appoint Directors Jared Barnes, Melissa Marschall and Jean Meyer to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw, Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes and Jean Meyer to the Technology Committee. Motions for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

School Lawyer

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to name as lawyers: Knutson, Flynn Deans, P.A.; and Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm; and Kennedy & Graven for student/employee matters, and Tim Murphy for property and other local concerns. Those voting in

favor: Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, and Spencer Yohe. Director Michelle Werner abstained. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Auditor

Moved by Amanda King, seconded by Jean Meyer to name Clifton Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Medical Leave of Absence

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Amanda King to approve the medical leave of absence of Helen Augedahl to begin January 3, 2014, through January 31, 2014. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Resignations

Moved by Amanda King, seconded by Jean Meyer to accept the resignation of Linda Kohnen effective March 1, 2014, with thanks for her years of service to the school district. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

OTHER TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

Superintendent Barton and the board discussed ideas on how to focus more on the school district's core values in our schools.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to adjourn the meeting at 7:51 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Jean Meyer, Clerk