Board Meeting Minutes January 3, 2012

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in an organizational regular school board meeting in the Middle/High School Media Center. The meeting was called to order by Chair Michelle Werner at 5:00 p.m. The school board members present were John Klug, Scott Longhorn, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. Also present were Superintendent Marcia Love, Nancy Runningen, Karen Schiltz, and Barb Meyer. Absent were Paul DeMorett and Jane Morken.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by John Klug to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ACTION ITEMS

Election of Officers – 2012

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Scott Longhorn to nominate Director Michelle Werner for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to close the nominations for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Melissa Marschall to nominate Director Kelley McGraw for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to close the nominations for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director Jean Meyer for the office of Clerk. Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Melissa Marschall to close the nominations for the office of Clerk. Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director John Klug for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Scott Longhorn to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office Legislative Liaison. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Scott Longhorn to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Melissa Marschall to approve the candidates for the office as stated above. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Scott Longhorn to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be at 7:00 p.m.; and place of meetings to be in the middle/high school media center unless otherwise designated. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Meeting Dates of January 16, 2012, and February 20, 2012 School Board Meetings

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Scott Longhorn to hold the January 16, 2012, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, January 17, 2012, due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and the February 20, 2012, regular school board meeting on Tuesday, February 21, 2012, due to President's Day. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Board Compensation

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Jean Meyer to set the compensation for regular, special and committee meetings at \$35.00 per meeting attended; out of district meetings at \$75.00 per day and \$37.50 per half day; and mileage allowance at \$0.55.5 per mile or per the IRS guidelines. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Depositories

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by John Klug to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Those voting in favor: John Klug, Scott Longhorn, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer and Spencer Yohe. Director Michelle Werner abstained. Motion carried.

Use of Facsimile Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Kelley McGraw to authorize the Business Manager/Finance Director and the Superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Office Manger/Human Resource Coordinator

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Scott Longhorn to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Melissa Marschall to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Appointment of Temporary Committees:

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Spencer Yohe to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn, Jean Meyer, and Michelle Werner to the Administrative Negotiations Committee; to appoint Director John Klug and Director Scott Longhorn as an alternate to the Ag Advisory Committee; to appoint Directors John Klug, Kelley McGraw, and Jean Meyer to the Building and Grounds Committee; to appoint Directors John Klug, Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Co-curricular/Athletic Committee; to appoint Director John Klug and Director Melissa Marschall as the alternate to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Director Kelley McGraw and Director Scott Longhorn as the alternate to the Continuing Education Committee Representative; to appoint Directors Melissa Marschall and Michelle Werner to the Curriculum/PSEO/On-line Learning Committee; to appoint Directors Jean Meyer and Spencer Yohe to the District Improvement Team; to appoint Director Michelle Werner to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Director Michelle Werner to the Houston County Collaborative Governing Board; to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn and Kelley McGraw to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director John Klug as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn, Kelley McGraw, and Michelle Werner to the Strategic Planning Committee; to appoint Directors John Klug, Jean Meyer, and Michelle Werner to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee; to appoint Director Scott Longhorn, Kelley McGraw and Spencer Yohe to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn and Jean Meyer to the Technology Committee; and to appoint Directors John Klug and Melissa Marschall to the Transportation Committee. Motions for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

<u>School Lawyer</u>

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Melissa Marschall to name as lawyers: Knutson, Flynn Deans, P.A. and Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm for student/employee matters, and Tim Murphy for property and other local concerns. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Auditor

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Melissa Marschall to name Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Superintendent/Elementary Principal Position

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Jean Meyer to begin the process of advertising for a Superintendent/Elementary Principal position to begin July 1, 2012. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Scott Longhorn to adjourn the meeting at 5:54 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Jean Meyer, Clerk