# Board Meeting Minutes January 3, 2013

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in an organizational school board meeting in the Middle/High School Media Center. The meeting was called to order by Chair Michelle Werner at 7:00 p.m. The school board members present were Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. Others present were Ben Barton, Karen Schiltz and Clay Schuldt.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

# APPOINTMENT OF NEW SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS AND ADMINISTERING OATH OF OFFICE

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Spencer Yohe to appoint Jared Barnes and Amanda King as the new school board members effective January 1, 2013, and administer Oath of Office. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

# Election of Officers – 2013

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director Michelle Werner for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Kelley McGraw to close the nominations for the office of Chairperson. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Melissa Marschall to nominate Director Kelley McGraw for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Jared Barnes, seconded by Melissa Marschall to close the nominations for the office of Vice Chairperson. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Melissa Marschall to nominate Director Jean Meyer for the office of Clerk. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Spencer Yohe to close the nominations for the office of Clerk. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director Melissa Marschall for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Motion carried by a unanimous vote. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Melissa Marschall to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office Legislative Liaison. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Jared Barnes to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

#### Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be at 7:00 p.m.; and place of meetings to be in the middle/high school media center unless otherwise designated. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

# Meeting Dates of January 21, 2013 and February 18, 2013 School Board Meetings

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Melissa Marschall to hold the January 21, 2013, regular school board meeting on Thursday, January 24, 2013, due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and the February 18, 2013, regular school board meeting on Thursday, February 21, 2013, due to President's Day. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## **Board Compensation**

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jean Meyer to set the compensation for regular, special and committee meetings at \$35.00 per meeting attended; out of district meetings at \$75.00 per day and \$37.50 per half day; and mileage allowance at \$0.56.5 per mile or per the IRS guidelines. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

#### School Depositories

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Amanda King to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

#### Use of Facsimile Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Jared Barnes to authorize the Business Manager/Finance Director and the Superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Office Manger/Human Resource Coordinator

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the Office Manager/Human Resource Coordinator. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Amanda King to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

#### *Appointment of Temporary Committees:*

Moved by Kelley McGraw, seconded by Melissa Marschall to appoint Directors Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Activities Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes, Jean Meyer, and Michelle Werner to the Administrative Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes and Jean Meyer to the Building, Grounds and Transportation Committee; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Melissa Marschall to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Melissa Marschall to the Curriculum/PSEO/On-line Learning Committee; to appoint Directors Amanda King and Melissa Marschall to the Finance Committee; to appoint Director Amanda King to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw and Michelle Werner to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director Jean Meyer as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Directors Amanda King, Jean Meyer and Spencer Yohe to the Strategic Planning Committee; to appoint Directors Jared Barnes, Melissa Marschall and Jean Meyer to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw, Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors Kelley McGraw and Jean Meyer to the Technology Committee. Motions for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

#### School Lawyer

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Amanda King to name as lawyers: Knutson, Flynn Deans, P.A. and Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm for student/employee matters, and Tim Murphy for property and other local concerns. Those voting in favor: Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, and Spencer Yohe. Director Michelle Werner abstained. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

#### School Auditor

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Amanda King to name Clifton Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

# OTHER TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

Director Yohe informed the board that the MSBA Negotiations Seminar is scheduled for Friday, February 8, 2013, in Rochester. If you are interested in attending, please contact Karen in the District Office to get registered.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Jared Barnes to adjourn the meeting at 8:00 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Jean Meyer, Clerk