# Board Meeting Minutes November 7, 2014

The Board of Education of Independent School District No. 299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in a special school board meeting to canvass the November 4, 2014, election results. The meeting was called to order by Chair Michelle Werner at 3:30 p.m. The school board members present were Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. Also present was Barb Meyer. Absent were Directors Jared Barnes, Amanda King, and Melissa Marschall.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

### TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

<u>Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District Special Election</u> Member Jean Meyer moved the adoption of the following resolution:

#### **RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL ELECTION**

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 299, State of Minnesota, as follows:

1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the special election of the voters of this school district held in conjunction with the state general election on November 4, 2014, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.

2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, at said election a total of 3,115 voters of the school district voted on the question of authorizing the issuance of school building bonds for a school acquisition and betterment program (SCHOOL DISTRICT BALLOT QUESTION 1), of which 1,517 voted in favor, 731 voted against the same, and there were 0 completely blank or defective ballots related to this question. Said proposition, having received the approval of at least a majority of such votes, is hereby declared to have carried.

3. The clerk is hereby directed to certify the results of the election to the county auditors of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part and to the Commissioner of Education.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Member Kelley McGraw and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. The following voted against the same: None. Absent were Directors Jared Barnes, Amanda King, and Melissa Marschall. Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

#### Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District General Election

Director Jean Meyer introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

## **RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 299 GENERAL ELECTION**

BE IT RESOLVED by School Board of Independent School District No. 299 as follows:

1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 4, 2014, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.

2. As specified by the Houston County Auditor's Office, a total of 3,115 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of four school board members for four-year term vacancies caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Jimmy Westland – 4 year term	836	Votes
Amanda King – 4 year term	1,516	Votes
Blaine Moe – 4 year term	829	Votes
Rande Gustafson – 4 year term	724	Votes
Melissa Marschall – 4 year term	826	Votes
Kelley McGraw – 4 year term	1,313	Votes
Michelle Werner – 4 year term	1,439	Votes
Write-In Candidate(s): Miscellaneous Names	34	Votes

3. Candidates Amanda King, Kelley McGraw, Michelle Werner, and Jimmy Westland having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January 2015.

4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Director Spencer Yohe, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following board members voted in favor thereof: Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. The following voted against the same: None. Absent were Directors Jared Barnes, Amanda King, and Melissa Marschall. Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Whereupon, the Board of Chairperson declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 7<sup>th</sup> day of November, 2014, at a special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District 299, Caledonia, Minnesota.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to adjourn the meeting at 3:33 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Jean Meyer, Clerk