SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES Wednesday, November 10, 2010

The Board of Education of Independent School District #299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in a special school board meeting to canvass the election results in the Caledonia Area Elementary Media Center. The meeting was called to order by Chair Naomi Fruechte at 7:00 p.m. Members present were Naomi Fruechte, Matt Hendel, John Klug, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, Charlie Wray, and Spencer Yohe. Also present were Superintendent Bruce Thomas, Karen Schiltz, Barb Meyer, and Kelley McGraw.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by John Klug, seconded by Michelle Werner to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

<u>Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District No. 299 General Election</u>

Director Jean Meyer introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 299 GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by School Board of Independent School District No. 299 as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 2, 2010, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified by the Houston County Auditor's Office, a total of 2,849 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of four school board members for four-year term vacancies caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Scott Longhorn – 4 year term 1,519 Votes

Michelle Werner – 4 year term 1,664 Votes

Write-In Candidate(s):

Kelley McGraw – 4 year term 306 Votes

Melissa Marschall – 4 year term 48 Votes

- 3. Candidates Scott Longhorn, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, and Michelle Werner having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January 2011.
- 4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Director Spencer Yohe, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following board members voted in favor thereof: Naomi Fruechte, Matt Hendel, John Klug, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, Charlie Wray, and Spencer Yohe. The following voted against the same: None.

Whereupon, the Board of Chairperson declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 10th day of November, 2010, at a special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District 299, Caledonia, Minnesota.

ADJOURNMENT

| _ := : : : | 9. v. v | | |
|-----------------|---|----------------------------------|---------------------|
| | Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Matt Hendel to | adjourn the meeting at 7:05 p.m. | Motion carried by a |
| unanimous vote. | | | |
| | | | |
| | _ | | |
| | Jea | an Meyer, Clerk | |