# SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES Monday, January 3, 2011

The Board of Education of Independent School District #299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in a regular school board meeting in the Caledonia Area Middle/High School Media Center. The meeting was called to order by School Board Clerk Jean Meyer at 8:00 p.m. Members present were John Klug, Scott Longhorn, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Spencer Yohe. Also present were Paul DeMorett, Barb Meyer, Karen Schiltz, Craig Moorhead, Janelle Field Rohrer, Joe Marschall, and Carrie Thompson. Absent were Superintendent Bruce Thomas, Connie Hesse, and Nancy Runningen.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by John Klug to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## APPOINTMENT OF NEW SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS AND ADMINISTERING OF OATH OF OFFICE

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Spencer Yohe to appoint Scott Longhorn, Melissa Marschall, and Kelley McGraw as the new school board members effective January 1, 2011. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## ACTION ITEMS

## Election of Officers - 2011

Moved by John Klug, seconded by Scott Longhorn to nominate Director Michelle Werner for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director Scott Longhorn for the office of Vice Chairperson. Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by John Klug to nominate Director Jean Meyer for the office of Clerk. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to nominate Director John Klug for the office of Treasurer. Moved by John Klug, seconded by Scott Longhorn to nominate Director Spencer Yohe for the office of Legislative Liaison. Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Melissa Marschall to approve the candidates for office as stated above. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Setting Meeting, Date, Time and Place

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by Scott Longhorn to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meeting to be at 7:00 p.m.; and the place of meetings to be in the middle/high school media center unless otherwise designated. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Meeting Date of the February 21, 2011, School Board Meeting

Moved by John Klug, seconded by Melissa Marschall to hold the February 21, 2011, regular school board meeting on Monday, February 28, 2011, in the middle/high school media center at 7:00 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Board Compensation

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Scott Longhorn to set the compensation for regular, special, and committee meetings at \$35.00 per meeting attended; out of district meetings at \$75.00 per day and \$37.50 per half day; and mileage allowance at \$0.51 per mile or per the IRS Guidelines. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## School Depositories

Moved by Spencer Yohe, seconded by John Klug to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Use of Facsimile Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Kelley McGraw to authorize the business manager/accountant and superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Designation of Duties of School Board Clerk to Superintendent's Confidential Assistant

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Spencer Yohe to designate duties of school board clerk to be given to the superintendent's confidential assistant. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Scott Longhorn, seconded by Melissa Marschall to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## Appointment of Temporary Committees

Moved by Melissa Marschall, seconded by Spencer Yohe to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn, Kelley McGraw and Spencer Yohe to the Teacher Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors John Klug, Jean Meyer, and Michelle Werner to the Support Staff Negotiations Committee: to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn, Jean Meyer, and Michelle Werner to the Administrative Negotiations Committee; to appoint Directors John Klug and Melissa Marschall to the Transportation Committee; to appoint Directors Jean Meyer and Spencer Yohe to the District Improvement Team; to appoint Director John Klug and Director Melissa Marschall as the alternate to the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative; to appoint Director Kelley McGraw and Director Scott Longhorn as the alternate to the Continuing Education Committee Representative; to appoint Director Michelle to the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative; to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn and Kelley McGraw to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Michelle Werner to the Houston County Collaborative Governing Board; to appoint Director Spencer Yohe and Director John Klug as an alternate to the Minnesota State High School League; to appoint Director Melissa Marschall and Director Michelle Werner as the alternate to the Curriculum Committee; to appoint Directors Scott Longhorn and Jean Meyer to the Technology Committee; to appoint Directors John Klug, Kelley McGraw, and Jean Meyer to the Building and Grounds Committee; to appoint Director John Klug and Director Scott Longhorn as an alternate to the Ag Advisory Committee. Motion for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

# School Lawyer

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Melissa Marschall to name as lawyers: Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm, and Knutson, Flynn Deans, P.A. for student/employee matters, and Tim Murphy for property and other local concerns. Motion voting in favor: John Klug, Scott Longhorn, Melissa Marschall, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, and Spencer Yohe. Director Michelle Werner abstained. Motion carried.

# School Auditor

Moved by John Klug, seconded by Scott Longhorn to name Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

## OTHER TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

Mrs. Carrie Thompson addressed the board regarding the band/choir trip planned to Florida.

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Scott Longhorn to approve the band/choir trip to Orlando, Florida, beginning March 23, 2011, through March 29, 2011, with no additional costs to the school district for this trip. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Melissa Marschall to adjourn the meeting at 8:56 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.