SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES Monday, January 7, 2008

The Board of Education of Independent School District #299, Caledonia, Minnesota, met in a regular school board meeting in the Caledonia Area Elementary Media Center.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Naomi Fruechte at 7:00 p.m. Members present were Naomi Fruechte, Matt Hendel, John Klug, Joyce Knutson, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, and Charlie Wray. Also present were Superintendent Michael Moriarty, Karen Schiltz, Janelle Field Rohrer, Roger Knutson, and Dan McGonigle.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Matt Hendel to approve the agenda as amended to include a closed session for teacher negotiations and to act on holding a special school board meeting on January 14, 2008. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ACTION ITEMS

Election of Officers - 2008

Moved by Charlie Wray, seconded by John Klug to nominate Director Naomi Fruechte for the office of Chairperson. Moved by Matt Hendel, seconded by Michelle Werner to close the nominations for the Office of Chair person. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Moved by Matt Hendel, seconded by Joyce Knutson to nominate Director Charlie Wray for the office of Vice-Chairperson. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Joyce Knutson to close the nominations for the office of Vice-Chairperson. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by John Klug to nominate Director Jean Meyer for the office of Clerk. Moved by Charlie Wray, seconded by John Klug to close the nominations for the office of Clerk. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Matt Hendel to nominate Director Michelle Werner for the office of Treasurer. Moved by Matt Hendel, seconded by John Klug to close the nominations for the office of Treasurer. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Jean Meyer to nominate Director John Klug for the office of Legislative Liaison. Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Matt Hendel to close the nominations for the office of Legislative Liaison. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Joyce Knutson to approve the candidates for office as stated above. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Setting Meeting Date, Time and Place

Moved by Charlie Wray, seconded by Joyce Knutson to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month with the first Monday school board meeting to be held if needed; special school board meetings scheduled on an as needed basis; time of meetings to be set at 7:00 p.m.; and the place of meetings to be in the elementary media center unless otherwise designate. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Meeting Dates of the January 14, 2008, and February 18, 2008 School Board Meetings

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Joyce Knutson to hold the January 21, 2008, regular school board meeting on Monday, January 28, 2008, and the February 18, 2008, regular school board meeting on Monday, February 25, 2008, in the elementary media center at 7:00 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Board Compensation

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by John Klug to set the compensation for regular, special and committee meetings at \$35.00 per meeting attended; out of district meetings at \$75.00 per day and \$37.50 per half day; and mileage allowance at \$0.50.5 or per the IRS Guidelines. Those voting in favor: Naomi Fruechte, Matt Hendel, John Klug, Joyce Knutson, Jean Meyer, and Charlie Wray. Director Michelle Werner abstained. Motion carried.

School Depositories

Moved by Joyce Knutson, seconded by Matt Hendel to name the following school depositories: General Fund at Merchant's Bank; Secondary Student Activity Account at Bank of the West; Investments at Bank of the West, Merchant's Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Use of Facsimile Signatures and Authorization of Investments

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Michelle Werner to authorize the business manager/accountant and superintendent to invest cash reserves and to make electronic transfers. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Naming Official Newspaper

Moved by Joyce Knutson, seconded by Jean Meyer to name the Caledonia Argus as the official newspaper. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Appointment of Temporary Committees:

Moved by Jean Meyer, seconded by Joyce Knutson to appoint the following temporary committees: to appoint Directors Naomi Fruechte, Joyce Knutson and Charlie Wray for teacher negotiations; to appoint Directors John Klug, Jean Meyer and Michelle Werner for support staff negotiations; to appoint Directors Naomi Fruechte, Matt Hendel, and Jean Meyer for administration negotiations; to appoint Directors John Klug and Joyce Knutson for the Transportation Committee; to appoint Directors Jean Meyer and Charlie Wray for the District Improvement Team; to appoint Director Michelle Werner and Director John Klug as the alternate for the Community Education Advisory Council representative; to appoint Director Michelle Werner and Director Naomi Fruechte and Director Jean Meyer as the alternate for the Hiawatha Valley Education District representative; to appoint Directors John Klug and Director Charlie Wray to the Meet and Confer Committee; to appoint Director Joyce Knutson and Director John Klug as the alternate for the Houston County Collaborative Governing Board; to appoint Director Joyce Knutson and Director Matt Hendel as the alternate for the Curriculum Committee; to appoint Director Jean Meyer and Director Matt Hendel as the alternate for the Technology Committee; and to appoint Director SMatt Hendel, John Klug and Charlie Wray for the Building and Grounds Committee. Motion for the above temporary committees were carried by a unanimous vote.

School Lawyer

Moved by Michelle Werner, seconded by Joyce Knutson to name as lawyers: Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm for student/employee matters and Tim Murphy for property and other local concerns. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

School Auditor

Moved by Joyce Knutson, seconded by Michelle Werner to name Larson Allen, LLP, as the school auditor. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

OTHER TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED

Superintendent Moriarty discussed with the board the MSBA Annual Leadership Conference to be held on January 17th and 18th.

Moved by Joyce Knutson, seconded by John Klug to hold a special school board meeting on Monday, January 14, 2008, at 7:00 p.m. in the elementary media center to act on the 2007-2009 Teacher Master Agreement. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

CLOSED SESSION FOR TEACHER NEGOTIATIONS

Moved by Joyce Knutson, seconded by Jean Meyer to close the meeting at 7:35 p.m. to discuss teacher negotiations. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Moved by Joyce Knutson, seconded by Matt Hendel to convene the regular school board meeting at 8:15 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Charlie Wray, seconded by John Klug to adjourn the meeting at 8:16 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Jean Meyer, Clerk