MINI-RETREAT BOARD MEETING MINUTES

April 25, 2022

Chair Ron Pagel called the Dover-Eyota Board of Education Mini-Retreat, District #533, to order at 6:02 PM in the Dover-Eyota High School Media Center. Other Board members present: Tamara DeMuth, Heather Duellman, Riley Hammel, James Johnson, Jessica McFarlan, Shawnna Seaquist, and Superintendent Mike Carolan. Absent: none. Also, in attendance were Elementary Principal Dr. Jeanne Svobodny, Assistant Principal John Ostrowski, Teaching & Learning Director Heather Lyke, and Administrative Assistant Tara Dabelstein

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Approve the Agenda

A motion was made by Member Johnson, seconded by Member DeMuth, and carried unanimously to approve the amended agenda.

Reports/Discussion Items

Dover-Eyota Public Schools 2022-2025 Strategic Direction – Avery Bryant, Tyrel Clark, and Chris Arendt presented to the school board about the process that was taken to create the Strategic Direction. Technology Director Bryan Berg shared a little bit about how the QR code will work and be used.

Member Johnson shared that he was impressed by the document, stating that he felt it was really well done and the task force did a nice job. He did comment on the technology statement on the bottom and Mr. Arendt tried to explain why it is placed where it is and that it is because technology is the base of so much.

Nexus Facility – Tami Rhea, Chris Arendt, and Isabelle Wendt presented on the Facilities Plan Development. Mr. Dave Thompson of Nexus thanked the task forces and EAT for all their hard work and time and effort that was put into both projects.

Member McFarlen commended the groups for their efforts and thanked Mr. Arendt for his explanations during the presentations.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Member McFarlen, seconded by Member Hammel, and carried unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 6:42 PM.

Heather Duellman, Clerk TD