REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING of the SCHOOL BOARD of EDUCATION Lester Prairie Public Schools Monday January 8th, 2024 5:45 pm Lester Prairie School Media Center

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Corbey Hentges, Brian Heimerl, Keith Christen, Brian Heimerl, Rebecca Heimerl and Meganne Stifter-Knoll. Administration present: Dr. Melissa Radeke, Mike Lee, Ross Scheevel, and Alice Daak. Guests: Noah Behning, Edwardo Ruelas, Jake Sullivan, Charity Ernhart, Brodee Sawicky, Juan Espinoza, Katelyn Kraemer, Jack Ross, and Austen Neaton from Herald Journal.

<u>Agenda</u>

• Motion by B. Heimerl second by R. Heimerl to approve the Agenda as presented and or modified

Vote: 5 for, 0 against

Election of Officers

- Motion by R. Heimerl 2nd by Stifter-Knoll to elect **Corbey Hentges** as Chairperson since only candidate nominated, Hentges to preside as Chairperson
- Motion by Hentges 2nd by Stifter-Knoll to elect **Brian Heimerl** as Board Vice Chairperson since only candidate nominated, Brian Heimerl to preside as Vice Chairperson
- Motion by R. Heimerl 2nd by Christen to elect **Stifter-Knoll** as Clerk since only candidate nominated, Stifter-Knoll to preside as Clerk.
- Motion by Stifter-Knoll $2^{\rm nd}$ by B. Heimerl to elect **R. Heimerl** as Treasurer since only candidate nominated, R. Heimerl to preside as Treasurer.

School Board Items

Motion by R. Heimerl, second by Stifter-Knoll to approve School Board meetings to take place every 3rd Monday of the month at 5:45pm in Media Center at Lester Prairie School unless noted.

 $\begin{array}{lll} \text{February 12}^{\text{th}} & \text{March 18}^{\text{th}} \\ \text{April 15}^{\text{th}} & \text{May 20}^{\text{th}} \\ \text{June 17}^{\text{th}} & \text{July 15}^{\text{th}} \end{array}$

August 19th September 16th October 24th November 18th

December 16th Vote: 5 for, 0 against

School Board Salaries for 2020

Motion by B. Heimerl, seconded by Christen to keep School Board Salaries the same as last year for 2024 as follows:

1. 0-3 hrs. = \$40

2.4-6 hrs. = \$90

3. > 6 hrs. = \$140

Chairperson \$15 extra per meeting chaired Clerk \$30 extra per meeting Treasurer \$15 extra per meeting Negotiations Chairs \$10 per meeting

Vote: 5 for, 0 against

Submitted items for 2024

- 1. Accept the First Community Bank of Lester Prairie and the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund as official depositories for district funds and to approve a resolution to give check signing authority to Treasurer R. Heimerl, Chairperson Hentges and Clerk Stifter-Knoll
- 2. Herald Journal as official publication for District #424 for the 2024 calendar year.
- 3. Mileage Rate reimbursement at the rate of \$.10 per miles less than the set federal rate \$.67/mile. (LP = \$.57/mile)
- 4. Annual Delegation authority for EFT's on behalf of LP schools given to Kelly Elling (Payroll Specialist), Alice Daak (Business Manager) and Dr. Melissa Radeke (Superintendent)

Motion by Stifter-Knoll and seconded by R. Heimerl to approve these submitted items for 2024.

Vote: 5 for, 0 against

Board Committees

Discussion took place and Board Members were assigned to the following committees:

Community Ed.: R. Heimerl & Hentges
PTO: Stifter-Knoll & R. Heimerl

Facilities & Maint.: Engen, B. Heimerl & Christen

Technology/Tele Media: Christen & Stifter-Knoll

Activities: Engen, Hentges, & B. Heimerl

Negotiations:

- 1. Certified Hentges, Engen, B. Heimerl
- 2. Non-Certified B. Heimerl, R. Heimerl & Engen
- 3. Admin R. Heimerl, Christen & Stifter-Knoll

Meet & Confer: R. Heimerl & Stifter-Knoll

Policy: Hentges & Stifter-Knoll

Legislative: B. Heimerl

City Council: B. Heimerl, Christen

Motion by B. Heimerl and seconded by R. Heimerl to approve the board committees for 2023.

Vote: 5 for, 0 against.

Meeting was adjourned at 5:58 pm